الأرجنتين

منذ العام 2003، تمارس منظمات المجتمع المدني في الأرجنتين ضغوطًا قويّة من أجل محاسبة المجرمين على إنتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي أُرتكبت خلال الحكم العسكري – والتي أدّت في النهاية إلى موجة جديدة من محاكمات شملت كبار الضبّاط. يقدّم المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية النصح والدعم إلى منظمّات المجتمع المدني والمدّعين العامّين ووسائل الإعلام في ما يتعلّق بجهود المحاسبة هذه.

ملصق لذكرى ضحايا الديكتاتورية العسكرية (تصوير ديفيد أ. ولبانكس، والعمل الفني لخورخي مارتينيز)

الخلفية: : ثلاثون ألف ضحيّة ولكن "أبدًا ثانيةً"

من العام 1976 إلى العام 1983، نجم عن سلسلة من الإنقلابات العسكرية إختفاء أكثر من 30,000 شخص في حملة إرهاب وتعذيب وإختطاف. ومنذ سقوط الحكم العسكري الأخير في العام 1983، ناضلت الأرجنتين طويلًا وبقوّة لمواجهة هذه الإنتهاكات وتعزيز سيادة القانون.

لقد لعب البحث عن الحقيقة والملاحقات القضائية وجبر الضرر دورًا حيويًّا. وفي العام 1983، تأسّست اللجنة الوطنية حول الإختفاء إثر صدور مرسوم رئاسي بهذا الصدد، وأصبحت النسخة المختصرة لتقرير اللجنة حول إنتهاكات حقوق الإنسان خلال الحكم الديكتاتوري العسكري "أبدًا ثانيةً" Nunca Más (Never Again) أفضل كتاب مبيعات في الأرجنتين.

في العام 1985، جرت بنجاح ملاحقة قضائية لتسعة أعضاء سابقين من الطغمة العسكرية في محكمة تاريخية أدّت إلى إدانة الرئيسَين السابقَين، جورج رفائيل فيدلا وروبرتو إدواردو فيولا، والأدميرالَين إميليو إدواردو ماسييرا وأرماندو لامبروشيني، والعميد في الجيش أورلندو رامون أغوستي.

على ضوء ذلك، اعترضت الرتب العسكرية الأدنى على الملاحقات القضائية لها، ما دفع حكومة ألفونسن إلى إصدار قرار بإغلاق جميع ملفّات المحاسبة الجنائية من خلال سنّ قوانين تحدّ من مسؤولية الجنود القانونية ، والإطار الزمني الذي لا بدّ أن تُرفع فيه المحاكمات الجنائية. وبعد عدّة سنوات، وجد المجتمع المدني أنّ العمل الجيد الذي نتج عن الملاحقات القضائية السابقة قد جرى تقويضه بقرار الرئيس منعم بالعفو عن أعضاء الطغمة العسكرية المحكوم عليهم.

على الرغم من تلك النكسات، واصلت حركة حقوق الإنسان الأرجنتينية وعائلات المختفيين ضغوطها للمحاسبة. وفي العام 2003، حكمت المحكمة العليا في الأرجنتين بعدم دستورية القوانين التي تحمي الشخصيات العسكرية من الملاحقة القضائية.

أمّا اليوم فتعبّر السلطات الأرجنتينية بقوّة عن دعمها لملاحقة الجرائم السابقة قضائيًّا. ومنذ العام 2010، رُفعت دعاوى جنائية ضدّ 800 متّهم، وصدرت أحكام بحقّ 200 متّهم.

وتشمل الملاحقات القضائية الحالية قادة بارزين ومرتكبي جرائم مسؤولين مباشرةً عنها ومدنيين ساهموا فيها—من ضمنهم كهنة وقضاة ووزراء سابقون.

علاوة على ذلك، رفعت مجموعات حقوق الإنسان آلاف العرائض للحصول على جبر الضرر، منحه الكونغرس في مطلع التسعينيات. وعلى الرغم من أنّ سياسة جبر الضرر كانت محلّ انتقاد من حيث استعمالها كأداة سياسية للإفلات من العقاب، إلّا أنّها شكّلت برنامجًا هامًّا ساعد في تعزيز فكرة مسؤولية الدولة، وقدّمت الكثير من الدروس للعدالة الإصلاحية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

يعمل المركز مع المجتمع المدني المحلي وفاعلين في الدولة لتسهيل الملاحقات القضائية وتحديد الجرائم القائمة على النوع الإجتماعي، وتوثيق تجارب الأرجنتين مع العدالة الإنتقالية.

يتضمن عملنا في الأرجنتين، بالشراكة مع مركز الدراسات القانونية والإجتماعية-CELS:

  • العدالة الجنائية: نقدّم النصح الفنّي لمدّعي الدولة والمنظّمات غير الحكومية المحلية التي تعمل على الملاحقات القضائية الجنائية. ونساعد مكتب رئيس دائرة العدل في تطوير إستراتيجيات ذات صلة بالملاحقات القضائية والإنخراط مع الضحايا. وفي العام 2009، أطلقنا مشروعًا لمسح الأدلّة المتوفّرة من أجل المدّعين العامّين الذين يأملون بفتح قضايا جديدة.
  • العنف القائم على النوع الإجتماعي: نساعد في تحديد مقوّمات إنتهاكات حقوق الإنسان القائمة على أساس النوع الإجتماعي، والتي غالبًا ما يتمّ إخفاؤها. في العام 2010، عقد المركز مؤتمرًا لتسليط الضوء على هذا الموضوع. كما أعددنا إرشادات لمساعدة مكتب المدّعي العام في تحديد الجرائم القائمة على أساس النوع الإجتماعي، وأصدرنا تقريرًا حول هذا الموضوع.
  • وسائل الإعلام: نساعد وسائل الإعلام على تقديم تقارير دقيقة حول قضايا العدالة الجنائية. في العام 2010، أطلقنا حملة ناجحة طالبنا من خلالها بأن تكون المحاكمات مفتوحة أمام حضور وسائل الاعلام.
  • مشاركة المعرفة: يقدّم تبنّي الأرجنتين ودعمها للعدالة والمحاسبة دروسًا هامة لسائر دول العالم، ويساهم المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية من خلال أبحاثه ومنشوراته، في توثيق دراسات حول هذه الدروس ونشرها. في نهاية العام 2011، سوف يقوم المركز بنشر كتاب حول التجربة الأرجنتينية، يتضمّن ثماني مقالات من إعداد علماء إجتماع ومحامين وأكاديميين ومدّعين عامين.

Argentina

Since 2003, civil society groups in Argentina have led a vigorous push to hold criminals accountable for the human rights abuses perpetrated during military rule—which has ultimately resulted in a new wave of trials of high-ranking officers. ICTJ provides advice and support to local NGOs, prosecutors and the media in relation to these accountability efforts.

Poster commemorating victims of the military dictatorship. (Photo by David A. Wilbanks, artwork by Jorge Martinez)

Background: Thirty Thousand Gone, but “Never Again”

From 1976 to 1983, a series of military juntas resulted in the disappearance of over 30,000 people in a campaign of terror, torture and kidnappings. Since the last military regime collapsed in 1983, Argentina has struggled long and hard to confront the legacy of these abuses and to consolidate the rule of law.

Truth-seeking, prosecutions and reparations have all played a vital part. In 1983, a presidential decree created the National Commission on the Disappeared. An abridged version of the Commission’s report on human rights violations during the military dictatorship, Nunca Más (Never Again), became a best-selling book in the country.

In 1985, nine former members of the military juntas were successfully prosecuted in a landmark trial. This led to the conviction of former presidents Jorge Rafael Videla and Roberto Eduardo Viola, the Admirals Emilio Eduardo Masera and Armando Lambruschini, and Brigadier General Orlando Ramón Agosti.

Lower military ranks began to agitate against the threat of prosecutions resulting in the Alfonsin government’s decision to close avenues of criminal accountability by passing laws limiting the legal responsibility of soldiers and the timeframe in which criminal cases could be brought. A few years later civil society saw the good work of the earlier prosecutions undermined by President Menem’s decision to pardon the convicted Junta members.

Despite these setbacks, the Argentine human rights movement and families of the disappeared continued to press for accountability. In 2003, the Argentine Supreme Court ruled that the laws protecting military personnel from prosecutions were unconstitutional.

Argentine authorities today express strong support for prosecuting past crimes. As of 2010, more than 800 accused faced criminal charges, and 200 have been sentenced.

Current prosecutions include key leaders, direct perpetrators and civilians who contributed to the crimes—including priests, judges and former ministers.

In addition, human rights groups filed thousands of petitions for obtaining reparations granted by Congress in the early 1990’s. Although the reparation policy was criticized as a political tool to hide the impunity provided by the pardons, in the end it was a significant program that helped to consolidate the idea of State responsibility and it continues to offer many lessons for reparative justice worldwide.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ works with local civil society and state actors to facilitate prosecutions, identify gender-based crimes, and document Argentina’s experiences with transitional justice.

Our work in Argentina, in partnership with the Center for Legal and Social Studies (CELS), includes:

  • Criminal justice: We provide technical advice to state prosecutors and local NGOs working on criminal prosecutions. We assist the Attorney General’s office to develop prosecutorial strategies and engage with victims. In 2009, we started a mapping project to identify evidence available to prosecutors who hope to open new cases.
  • Gender-based violence: We help identify gender-based components of systematic human rights abuses that are often buried. In 2010 we held a conference highlighting this topic. We also produced guidelines to help the prosecutor’s office identify gender-based crimes and released a paper on the subject.
  • Media: We help the media to accurately report on issues of criminal justice. In 2010, we successfully campaigned for the trials to be open to the press.
  • Sharing knowledge: Argentina’s push for justice and accountability offers important lessons to the rest of the world. Through its research and publications, ICTJ contributes to documenting and disseminating analysis on these lessons. At the end of 2011, ICTJ will publish a book of eight essays by social scientists, lawyers, academics, and prosecutors on the Argentine experience.