مصر

بعد الثورة الشعبية في شهري كانون الثاني/يناير و شباط/فبراير من العام 2011 التي أسقطت الرئيس حسني مبارك، يطالب المصريون بالمحاسبة ويسعون إلى معالجة عقود من القمع السياسي وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. ويقدّم المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية المساعدة الفنية لمؤسسات الدولة والمجتمع المدني في إطار الجهود المبذولة لمعالجة أخطاء الماضي وإرساء مجتمع قوي، يحترم الحقوق.

المتظاهرون يهتفون ضد مبارك في ساحة التحرير في 1 شباط/فبراير 2011

الخلفية: تاريخ من القمع، تفاؤل حذر

منذ 1952، شهدت مصر تعاقبا" لأنظمة استبدادية وموجات من القمع. وظلّ الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي- وهو الحزب الحاكم في مصر الذي أسّسه الرئيس السابق أنور السادات عام 1978- في السلطة إلى حين إجبار الرئيس مبارك على التنحّي بعد أسابيع من الاحتجاجات في شهر شباط/فبراير 2011.

وأمسكت حكومة مبارك والحزب الوطني الديمقراطي بالبلاد بقبضة حازمة عبر انتخابات مبرمجة وجهاز أمني عنيف. واستخدمت حالة الطوارئ المفروضة من دون انقطاع منذ 1981 لتيسير التوقيف التعسّفي لأعضاء المعارضة والمحتجّين، فضلا" عن المحاكمات غير العادلة للمدنيين أجهزة أمن الدولة أو المحاكم العسكرية. وتمّ اللجوء بانتظام إلى التعذيب وسوء المعاملة في السجون ومرافق الاحتجاز الأخرى.

في شهر شباط/فبراير 2011- وبعد 18 يوما" من الاحتجاجات الشعبية المستوحاة من الثورة التونسية ضد الفساد والعنف السياسي والإفلات من العقاب- تنحّى مبارك ونقل صلاحياته إلى المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلّحة. وعقِب ذلك بعد شهر استفتاء وطني أيّد التعديلات الدستورية التي ستمهّد الطريق لانتخابات جديدة. وظلّ المصريون يقومون باحتجاجات من وقت إلى آخر، مطالبين بإقالة كلّ من شارك في نظام مبارك ومحاسبتهم.

وأنشأت الحكومة الإنتقالية لجنة خاصة للتحقيق في الانتهاكات التي ارتكبت خلال الاحتجاجات. وأشار تقريرها النهائي الصادر في أواخر نيسان/أبريل إلى أن القوى الأمنية استخدمت الذخيرة الحية ضدّ المتظاهرين. وسمّى التقرير العديد من أعضاء الحزب الحاكم المسؤولين عن اعتداءات 2 شباط/فبراير على المتظاهرين في ساحة التحرير.

في نيسان/أبريل 2011، حلّت المحكمة الإدارية العليا المصرية الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي، طالبةً تحويل موجودات الحزب إلى الحكومة. بدأت الحكومة الانتقالية المصرية بمحاكمة كبار مسؤولي النظام السابق من مثل الرئيس السابق٬ والوزراء السابقين (وزير الداخلية وآخرين)٬ والمسؤولين الأمنيين بتهم الفساد واستخدام العنف ضد المتظاهرين خلال الثورة التي امتدت طوال 18 يوماً. كذلك أصدرالمجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلّحة مرسوماً بانشاء صندوق للتعويضات٬ وبتوفير الخدمات الإجتماعية والصحية لضحايا ثورة 25 يناير وعائلاتهم.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

يهدف تدخّل المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية في مصر إلى تقديم المساعدة الفنية وإسداء النصح إلى اللاعبين المحليين حول خيارات العدالة الإنتقالية وتعزيز قدرتهم على الاستجابة لتحديات الوضع الحالي.

  • في 2011 زار مسؤولون في المركز مصر للقاء اللاعبين المحليين – بما في ذلك مسؤولين وقضاة وناشطين في مجال حقوق الإنسان وصحافيين ومنظمات الضحايا ومجموعات نسائية ومنظمات شبابية- للتعرّف على كيفية تحديد المصريين لحاجاتهم من منظور العدالة الإنتقالية.
  • ومن أجل معالجة الحاجات التي حدّدها اللاعبون المحليون، سوف ينظّم المركز بعثات لقديم المساعدة الفنية والتدريب حول مفاهيم العدالة الإنتقالية من مثل العدالة الجنائية والبحث عن الحقيقة وفحص أهلية الموظفين وجبر الضرر.

Egypt

Following a popular uprising in January and February 2011 that toppled President Hosni Mubarak, Egyptians are demanding accountability and seeking to address decades of political repression and human rights abuses. ICTJ provides technical assistance to aid state institutions and civil society actors in their efforts to remedy past wrongs and create a strong, rights-respecting society.

Tens of thousands of anti-Mubarak protesters mass in Tahrir Square February 1, 2011.

Background: A History of Repression, Cautious Optimism

Since 1952, Egypt has witnessed a succession of authoritarian regimes and waves of repression. The National Democratic Party (NDP)—Egypt’s ruling party established by President Anwar Sadat in 1978—remained in power until President Mubarak was forced to step down following weeks of protests in February 2011.

Mubarak’s government and the NDP kept a tight hold on the country through orchestrated elections and a brutal security apparatus. A state of emergency in place without interruption since 1981 was used to facilitate the arbitrary detention of opposition members and protesters, as well as the unfair trials of civilians before state security or military courts. Torture and ill treatment were systematically used in prisons and other detention facilities.

In February 2011—after eighteen days of popular protests inspired by the Tunisian revolution against corruption, political violence, and impunity—Mubarak stepped down, transferring power to Egypt’s Supreme Council of Armed Forces. This was followed a month later by a national referendum, backing constitutional changes that will pave the way for new elections. Egyptians have continued to sporadically protest, demanding that all who served in the Mubarak regime be removed from office and held accountable.

A commission of inquiry was established by the interim government to investigate violations that occurred during the protests. Its final report issued in late April found security forces used live ammunition on demonstrators; the report named several members of the NDP responsible for the February 2 attacks on demonstrators in Tahrir Square.

In April 2011, Egypt’s High Administrative Court dissolved the National Democratic Party, ordering its assets to be transferred to the government. The transitional government in Egypt is already pursuing high officials such as the former president, former ministers (Interior and others), and security officials on charges related to corruption and violence against demonstrators during the 18 days of the uprising. The Supreme Council of the Armed Forces issued a decree to establish a fund for compensation, social services and health care of the victims of January 25 uprising and their families.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ’s involvement in Egypt aims to provide technical assistance and advice to local actors on transitional justice options and strengthen their capacity to respond to the challenges of the current situation.

  • ICTJ has visited Egypt to meet with local actors—including officials, judges, human rights activists, journalists, victims’ groups, women’s groups, and youth organizations—to identify how Egyptians understood their needs from a transitional justice viewpoint.
  • To address the needs raised by local actors, ICTJ will conduct missions to provide technical assistance and training on transitional justice concepts such as criminal justice, truth-seeking, vetting, and reparations.