المغرب

طُبع تاريخ المغرب منذ الإستقلال في العام 1956 بالقمع وتفشّي انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. ومنذ 2003، عمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية في المغرب مع المسؤولين ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني على معالجة إرث هذه الانتهاكات باعتماد عملية العدالة الإنتقالية.

أقارب ضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الانسان يتظاهرون للمطالبة بجبر الضرر (رويترز/رافايل مارشانت)

الخلفية: عملية تدريجية

بعد استقلال المغرب عام 1956، قامت السلطات باعتقال آلاف المواطنين تعسّفاً وبتعذيبهم أو "بإخفائهم" وذلك طوال سنوات عديدة. كما ردت بعنف على الاحتجاجات والإضرابات، ما أدّى إلى وقوع عشرات القتلى من المدنيين.

في العام 1990، واستجابة للنقد الداخلي والدولي المتزايدين، أسّس الملك حسن الثاني المجلس الإستشاري لحقوق الإنسان. وجرّاء ذلك، تمّ إطلاق سراح المئات من المعارضين السياسيين.

في العام 1998، أوصى المجلس بأن يقوم الملك بتأسيس هيئة رسمية للتعويض على ضحايا الإنتهاكات الماضية. وصادق الملك حسن على الاقتراح قبل أسبوعين على وفاته في العام 1999.

وعيّن الملك محمد السادس، إبن الملك حسن وخَلفه، لجنة التحكيم المستقلة في السنة نفسها من أجل التعويض على ضحايا التوقيف التعسّفي والإختفاء القسري.

هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة

إستجابة للطلب المتزايد من المجتمع المدني ومنظّمات الضحايا – الذين لم يكونوا راضين على التدابير السابقة – أنشأ الملك محمد هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة في العام 2004. وشملت ولاية الهيئة الوصول إلى الحقيقة بشأن الإنتهاكات الماضية وتوفير التعويضات للضحايا والأسر والتوصية بتدابير لمنع الإنتهاكات المستقبلية.

ونظرت الهيئة في أكثر من 22,000 طلب، وأجرت تحقيقات، ونظّمت جلسات استماع علنية في مختلف أنحاء المغرب تخلّلتها شهادات الضحايا – وهو حدث لم يسبق له مثيل في المنطقة. وقدّمت الهيئة تقريرها النهائي إلى الملك في كانون الأول/ديسمبر من العام 2005. وبعد ذلك بفترة قصيرة، صادق الملك محمد على نشر التقرير وطلب إلى المجلس الإستشاري لحقوق الإنسان العمل على تنفيذ توصيات اللجنة.

أمّا في ما يتعلّق بالعام 2011، فما زال ثمّة عمل مهم لا بدّ من إنجازه. وما زالت برامج التعويضات الجماعية في مرحلتها الأولية. ويبقى عدد من حالات الإختفاء من دون حلّ. كما لا تزال توصيات الإصلاح القانوني والمؤسسي لهيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة في بدايتها.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

عمل المركز عن كثب مع هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني ووسائل الإعلام خلال مختلف مراحل العملية وقدّم المساعدة في مجالات متعدّدة، مثل التحقيق في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وتطوير بروتوكولات لجلسات الإستماع العلنية وتصميم برامج جبر الضرر/ التعويض وتطوير استراتيجيات التواصل مع الجمهور ووسائل الإعلام.

ويعمل المركز حالياً على تقييم تجربة هيئة الإنصاف والمصالحة ومساعدة المغاربة في جهودهم من أجل تطبيق توصياتها:

  • البحث عن الحقيقة: : يشرف المركز على متابعة التحقيقات في مصير المفقودين ويصدر التوصيات حول كيفية إكمال هذه العملية في ما يتّفق مع المعايير الدولية.
  • إصلاح القطاع الأمني: نظّم المركز وشركاؤه مجموعة من ورشات العمل وأنشطة بناء القدرات والبعثات الإستشارية، مع المسؤولين المحليين ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني حول تجارب مقارنة في هذا المجال، لتيسير الحوار حول كيفية تنفيذ توصيات الهيئة من ناحية إصلاح القطاع الأمني.
  • مكافحة الإفلات من العقاب: بالشراكة مع المنظّمة المغربية لحقوق الإنسان ومؤسسة فريدريش إيبيرت، أطلق المركز مشروعاً لدعم تنفيذ توصية الهيئة التي تدعو إلى "اعتماد استراتيجية وطنية لمكافحة الإفلات من العقاب". ويتضمّن ذلك رصد المجالات التي لا يزال الإفلات من العقاب فيها سائداً، وتدريب المطالبين بتعزيز آليات المحاسبة والتشريع ونصحهم.
  • تخليد الذكرى: يعمل المركز بمعيّة التحالف الدولي لمواقع الوعي على تحليل جهود تخليد الذكرى في المغرب واقتراح الحلول على أساس التجارب في الدول الأخرى ذات الصلة.
  • التعلّم من المغرب: ويكمن الهدف في استخلاص العبر الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تُستخدم ضمن العملية الجارية في المغرب وفي أماكن أخرى. وتضمّنت هذه المشاريع ندوة دولية في العام 2009 حول تجربة التعويضات الجماعية وتقييماً جارياً لبُعد النوع الإجتماعي في عمل الهيئة.

Morocco

Morocco’s history since its independence in 1956 was marked by repression and widespread human rights violations. Since 2003, ICTJ has worked in Morocco with officials and civil society groups to address this legacy of violations through its transitional justice process.

Relatives of victims of human rights abuses demonstrate to demand compensation. (REUTERS/Rafael Marchante)

Background: A Gradual Process

After Morocco’s independence in 1956, authorities arbitrarily detained, tortured or “disappeared” thousands of citizens over many years. They also responded brutally to public protests and strikes, causing dozens of civilian deaths.

In 1990, in response to growing internal and international criticism, King Hassan II established the Advisory Council on Human Rights (CCDH). Several hundred political opponents were subsequently released.

In 1998 the council recommended that the king establish an official body to compensate victims of past human rights abuses. King Hassan approved the proposal just two weeks before he died in 1999.

King Mohammed VI, King Hassan’s son and successor, appointed the Independent Arbitration Commission (IAC) that same year to compensate victims of arbitrary detention and enforced disappearance.

The Equity and Reconciliation Commission

In response to growing demand from civil society and victims groups—who were unsatisfied with previous measures—King Mohammed created the Equity and Reconciliation Commission (IER) in 2004. The IER’s mandate included establishing the truth about past violations, providing reparations to victims and families; and recommending measures to prevent future violations.

The commission examined more than 22,000 applications for consideration, conducted investigations, and held public hearings throughout Morocco featuring the testimony of victims—an unprecedented event in the region. It presented its final report to the king in December 2005. Shortly thereafter King Mohammed approved publication of the report and asked the CCDH to carry out the commission’s recommendations.

As of 2011, important work remains to be done. Communal reparations programs are still in their initial phase. A number of disappearance cases remain unresolved. The IER’s legal and institutional reform recommendations remain in embryonic form.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ worked closely with the IER as well as civil society groups and the media throughout the process, providing assistance in areas such as investigating human rights abuses, development protocols for public hearings, designing reparations programs, and development public and media outreach strategies.

ICTJ is currently in the process of assessing the IER experience and assisting Moroccan’s in their efforts to implement its recommendations:

  • Truth-seeking: ICTJ monitors the follow-up investigations into the fate of the disappeared, and makes recommendations on how to complete this process in line with international standards.
  • Security sector reform: ICTJ and its partners have conducted a series of workshops, capacity building activities and advisory missions with local officials and civil society groups on comparative experiences in this area to facilitate dialogue on how to implement the IER recommendations on security sector reform.
  • Fighting impunity: In partnership with the Moroccan Organization for Human Rights and Friedrich Ebert Stiftung, ICTJ has launched a project to support the implementation of the IER recommendation which calls for “the adoption of a national strategy to fight impunity.” This includes mapping areas where impunity is still prevalent and training and advising those advocating for the reinforcement of accountability mechanisms and legislation.
  • Memorialization: Together with the International Coalition of Sites of Conscience, ICTJ is currently in the process of analyzing memorialization efforts in Morocco and proposing solutions based on experiences in other relevant countries.
  • Learning from Morocco. In partnership with local institutions, ICTJ has initiated a number of projects to study Morocco’s transitional justice experience. It seeks to draw key lessons that can be used in Morocco’s ongoing process and elsewhere. These projects have included a 2009 International Symposium on Collective Reparations experience and an ongoing assessment of the gender dimension of the IER's work.