آسياتيمور الشرقية

استعرض الدول
تيمور الشرقية

يدعم المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية في تيمور ليشتي معالجة إرث من إنتهاكات حقوق الإنسان خلّفته الحرب الأهلية و24 سنة من الإحتلال العسكري الإندونسي.

مصالحة في إحدى الجماعات٬ تيمور ليشتي.

الخلفية: عدالة ممنوعة

في العام 1975، غزت إندونسيا تيمور البرتغالية عقب حرب أهلية قصيرة. وخلال 24 سنة تلت، عانت تيمور الشرقية من النزوح والعنف الجنسي والتعذيب وإنتهاكات أخرى أودت بحياة أكثر من 100,000 شخص، نتيجة ذلك النزاع. .

في العام 1999، وبعد فترة قصيرة على سقوط حكم سوهارتو في إندونسيا، صوّت 78.5% من تيمور الشرقية للإستقلال في استفتاء نظّمته الأمم المتّحدة.

أشعل التصويت أعمال عنف منظّمة قامت بها قوّات الأمن الإندونسية وميليشيا تيمور التابعة لها، أسفرت عن أكثر من 1,400 قتيل ، وعن تدمير معظم البنية التحتية في تيمور الشرقية.

تدخّلت قوّات الأمم المتّحدة وجرى تأسيس الإدارة الإنتقالية التابعة للأمم المتحدة في تيمور الشرقية. وفي أيار/مايو 2002، أصبحت تيمور ليشتي دولة مستقلّة.

في المقابل، أنشأت الأمم المتّحدة محكمة قضائية خاصّة لتقصّي الجرائم الخطيرة التي ارتُكبت خلال النزاع، واتّهمت ما يقارب 400 مشبوه. لكن منذ بداية 2011، لم تجرِ إدانة إلّا 86 شخصًا فحسب، فيما بقي معظم المتّهمين أحرارًا في إندونسيا، ولم تقدّم حكومة إندونسيا سوى القليل من التعاون. لقد عانت مؤسّسات دولة تيمور ليشتي من نقص في الإرادة السياسية وفي القدرات القضائية، ما لم يمكّنها من القيام بعمليات تقصّي وملاحقات قضائية.

في العام 2002، بدأت لجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة بتقصّي الإنتهاكات التي ارتُكبت بين عامَي 1974 و1999، وأوصت بإجراءات للحؤول دون ارتكاب أيّة إنتهاكات في المستقبل. في هذا السياق، قدّمت لجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة تقريرها النهائي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2005، وأتبعته بنسخة شعبية موضَّحة في العام 2010.

في العام 2005، أنشأت إندونسيا وتيمور ليشتي لجنة ثنائية للحقيقة والصداقة لرسم خطوط الحقيقة حول أحداث 1999. وفي العام 2008، أصدرت هذه اللجنة تقريراً أفاد أنّ القوات الإندونسية كانت مسؤولة عن الكثير من أعمال عنف 1999.

أوصت لجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة ولجنة الحقيقة والصداقة كلتاهما بجبر الضرر للضحايا، وبآلية للبحث عن الأشخاص المختفيين. ومع أنّ البرلمان صادق على التوصيتين في العام 2009، إلّا أنّالتقدّم كان لا يُذكر في كلّ منهما.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

يعمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية في تيمور ليشتي منذ العام 2002، حيث قدّم النصح للجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة في عملية تأسيسها وإعداد تقريرها النهائي، كما يقوم بتقديم النصح لصانعي السياسات حول تنفيذ التوصيات الرئيسية للجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة وللجنة الحقيقة والصداقة.

نعمل على جعل صوت المنظّمات غير الحكومية ومنظّمات الضحايا مسموعًا في الحوار الوطني للعدالة الإنتقالية.

  • منشورات: أجرى المركز بحثًا حول آراء ضحايا النزاع بخصوص العدالة، كما قام بتقييم عمل فريق تقصّي الجرائم الخطيرة. أستُخدمت هذه المنشورات في جهود الدفاع المحلية والدولية، ومن ضمنها عرض اقتراح حول تيمور ليشتي في المجلّة الدورية العالمية لمجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتّحدة في العام 2011.
  • النصح والمساعدة الفنية: كجزء من مجموعة عمل (تتضمّن شركاء محلّيين ودوليّين)، قدّمنا النصح لصانعي السياسات التيمورين حول تنفيذ توصيات لجنة الإستقبال والحقيقة والمصالحة، ولجنة الحقيقة والصداقة. كما قدّمنا مساعدة فنية حول تعديلات على مسودة جبر الضرر وقوانين معهد الذاكرة التي ينظر فيها البرلمان الوطني حاليًّا.
  • مناصرة الضحايا والعدالة الانتقالية والنوع الإجتماعي: يعمل المركز مع جمعية HAK في مرحلة تأسيس جمعية ضحايا على مستوى البلاد، حيث لعب أعضاء HAK دورًا في الإستشارات العامة حول مسودة جبر الضرر والقوانين المؤسساتية، ونجحوا في ضمّ الضحايا إلى عملية التشاور.

يعمل المركز أيضًا على تمكين الضحايا من خلال التعاون مع شركاء من المنظّمات غير الحكومية ومع وزارة الضمان الإجتماعي.

AsiaTimor-Leste

Browse Countries
Timor-Leste

ICTJ supports efforts in Timor-Leste to address the legacy of human rights violations left by a civil war and 24 years of Indonesian military occupation.

Community reconciliation event, Timor-Leste.

Background: Justice Denied

Following a brief civil war, Portuguese Timor was invaded by Indonesia in 1975. Over the next 24 years, East Timorese suffered displacement, sexual violence, torture and other abuses. More than 100,000 people died due to conflict.

In 1999, shortly after the fall of Indonesia's Soeharto regime, 78.5 percent of East Timorese voted for independence in a UN-organized referendum.

The vote sparked systematic violence from Indonesian security forces and their Timorese militia, resulting in more than 1,400 deaths and the destruction of most of East Timor’s infrastructure.

UN-authorized troops intervened, and the UN Transitional Administration in East Timor (UNTAET) was established. In May 2002, Timor-Leste became an independent state.

The UN set up a special judicial process to investigate serious crimes committed during the conflict and indicted close to 400 suspects. As of early 2011, however, only 86 convictions have been made, and most indictees remain free in Indonesia. The Indonesian government has offered little co-operation. In addition, Timorese state institutions have suffered from a lack of political will and judicial capacity to conduct investigations and prosecutions.

In 2002, the Commission for Reception, Truth, and Reconciliation (CAVR) began investigating the violations committed between 1974 and 1999 and recommended measures to prevent future abuses. CAVR presented its final report in October 2005, followed by a popular illustrated version in 2010.

Indonesia and Timor-Leste established the bilateral Commission for Truth and Friendship (CTF) in 2005 to establish the truth about 1999’s events. The CTF’s 2008 report stated that Indonesian forces were responsible for much of the 1999 violence.

Both the CAVR and CTF recommended reparations for victims and a mechanism to search for disappeared persons. Though both were endorsed by Parliament in 2009, little progress has been made on either.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ has worked in Timor-Leste since 2002, advising the CAVR on its establishment and final report, and advising policy makers on implementation of key CAVR and CTF recommendations.

We work to ensure the voices of NGOs and victims' groups are heard in the national dialogue on transitional justice.

  • Publications: ICTJ researched conflict victims’ views on justice and assessed the work of the Serious Crimes Investigation Team. These publications have been used in domestic and international advocacy efforts, including a submission on Timor-Leste to the UN Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review in 2011.
  • Advice and technical assistance: As part of a working group (that includes local and international partners) we advise Timorese policymakers on implementing CAVR and CTF recommendations. We have also provided technical assistance on revisions to the draft reparations and Institute for Memory laws currently under consideration by the National Parliament.
  • Victim advocacy and gender justice: ICTJ works with HAK Association as it builds a nation-wide association of victims. HAK’s members have taken an active role in public consultations on the draft reparations and institutional laws, and succeeded in involving victims in the consultation process.

ICTJ also empowers victims through collaboration with local NGO partners and the Ministry of Social Solidarity.