نبيال: استئناف عملية العدالة الانتقالية، ولكن البعض لا يزال يسعى لحماية الجناة

19/8/2015

بعد ثماني سنوات من الشلل، شهدث بداية هذا العام عودة جهود نبيال في تدبر التركة الثقيلة التي خلفتها الحرب الأهلية ، والتي قتل فيها أكثر من 13000 شخص واختفى قسرياً ما يزيد عن 1300 شخص.

فبعد تعيين المفوضين وتصديق المحكمة العليا في فبراير الماضي على "قانون العدالة الانتقالية " الذي أقرته الحكومة، والذي يحدد مهام لجنتين: لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة ، ولجنة التحقيق المعنية بحالات المختفين قسىرياً، بدا أن الضحايا أخيراً يمكنهم الأمل برؤية الدولة تعمل على الالتزام بتوفير العدالة والحقيقة.

ثم ضرب ذلك الزلزال المدمر البلاد في ابريل من العام الجاري، متسبباً في خسائر بشرية فادحة وتدمير 14 مقاطعة من 75 مقاطعة نيبالية. وكانت الاحتياجات الأولية للبلاد تتعلق بالمساعدات الإنسانية لهولاء المتضررين، بما في ذلك ضحايا النزاع المسلح في تلك المقاطعات المنكوبة. ولم تنج اللجنتين من تبعات الزلزال؛ فقد تدمر مقر لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة، وتأخرت العملية برمتها بشكل كبير. والآن، بعد مرور ثلاثة أشهر، مع استمرار جهود المساعدات الانسانية، يستعيد العمل على معالجة الآثار الطويلة الأجل للصراع وتيرته مرة أخرى.

في هذه النشرة تحدثنا إلى جان يورغن، مدير مكتبنا بكاتماندو عن التحديات التي تواجه هاتين اللجنتين ، والذي أشار إلى الحاجة لوجود لوائح داخلية وإطار إداري معتمد في أقرب وقت ممكن من أجل أن تعمل هاتين اللجنتين بشكل فعال. لكنه نوه لبعض العمل الذي قامت به لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة بالفعل، بقيامها بزيارات ميدانية للمقاطعات، قائلاً:" لقد قاموا بزيارة حوالي 25 مقاطعة حتى الآن، وهذا مهم جداً لأن هذه الزيارات تتيح لهم بشكل مباشر التعرف على احتياجات الضحايا."

ومن وجهة نظره، فإن لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة تواجه تحديات كبيرة للفوز بثقة الضحايا ، بعد أن قلصت سنوات المشاحنات السياسية والشلل الثمانية ثقة الضحايا في المؤسسة السياسية وأعلت الشكوك عما إن كان لديها التزاماً حقيقياً بالعدالة. وأوضح يورغن أن:" السبب في أنه لم يتم إنشاء هاتين اللجنتين من قبل يكمن في معارضة بعض القوى السياسية وبعض عناصر الجيش" ،ولكنه أشار للتعهدات الكتابية بدعم اللجنتين من الأحزاب الساسية ومن الجيش.

في ظل هذه البيئة المسيية بشدة حيث تغيب الإرادة السياسية، من الصعب تخيل احتمالية إجراء محاكمات جنائية للجناة الأشد خطورة، ويعتقد يورغن أنها معركة طويلة الأجل.

في هذا الحوار، يعرض يورغن رؤيته عما يعتقده الضحايا ذا أولوية رئيسية في هذا الوقت ، ويحث على برنامج جبر ضرر شامل من قبل الحكومة ، كما يتحدث عن خطط المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية في نبيال في المستقبل القريب.

للاستماع للحوار باللغة الانجليزية


الصورة: سيدة نيبالية تشارك في وقفة بالشموع لضحايا الزلزال في كاتماندو، نيبال، السبت 2 مايو، 2015. وبلغت قوة الزلزال 7.8 حيث قتل الآلاف من الناس وقدرت الامم المتحدة أن 8.1 مليون شخص، أكثر من ربع سكان نيبال 27.8 مليون نسمة قد تضرروا من جرائه. (AP Photo/Niranjan Shrestha)

Nepal: Transitional Justice Process Is Back On, But Some Still Seek to Protect Perpetrators

8/19/2015

Subscribe

After eight years of paralysis, the beginning of this year saw a revival of Nepal’s efforts to reckon with the lingering legacy of the civil war, in which some 13,000 people died and more than 1,300 were forcibly disappeared.

Following the appointment of commissioners and the Supreme Court’s decision in February on the government’s “Transitional Justice Act,” which clarified the mandate of two commissions—the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the Commission for Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons—, it seemed that victims could finally hope to see the state deliver on the obligation to provide truth and justice.

And then in April a devastating earthquake struck the country, inflicting a great loss of life and destruction on 14 of Nepal’s 75 districts. The country’s immediate needs were for humanitarian assistance to people affected by the damage, including the victims of the conflict who lived in the affected areas. The two commissions did not escape the effects of the earthquake; the TRC’s building was destroyed and the whole process was significantly delayed. Now, more than three months later, as the humanitarian effort continues, the work on addressing the long-term effects of the conflict gathers pace again.

For a detailed overview of where the process stands at the moment and the major challenges facing the two commissions, we spoke to Jan Borgen, head of ICTJ’s office in Kathmandu. In this podcast, Borgen describes how the earthquake affected the victims of the conflict and the two truth-seeking bodies, and speaks of their immediate priorities six months into the mandate.

Listen

Download | (21.6 MB)

Borgen points to the need to have the internal regulations and administrative framework adopted as soon as possible in order for the commissions to function effectively, but points to some work being done by the TRC already as they make field visits to Nepal’s districts. “They visited some 25 districts so far and this is very important as such visits give them direct experience of what the victims needs are, “says Borgen.

He points out that the TRC faces a huge challenge in winning the victims’ trust, as the eight years of political wrangling and paralysis have severely eroded victims’ confidence in the political establishment and question whether it is genuine in its commitment to justice.
“The reason the two commissions have not been established before lies in the opposition from some political forces and the elements of the Army. They would still want to see the commissions protect the immunity of perpetrators,” says Borgen. However, as he points out, there are written pledges from political parties and the Army that they will support the work of the commissions.

In such a heavily politicized environment where political will is lacking, it is difficult to envisage how any possible criminal trials of the most serious perpetrators would unfold, explains Borgen. He predicts a long fight ahead.

In the podcast Borgen presents his insights on what victims see as main priorities at this time, reflects on the need for a comprehensive reparations program by the government, and speaks about the ICTJ’s plans in the country for the near future.


PHOTO: A Nepalese woman participates in a candle light vigil for victims of last week's earthquake in Kathmandu, Nepal, Saturday, May 2, 2015. The magnitude-7.8 earthquake killed thousands of people and the U.N. has estimated the quake affected 8.1 million people, more than a fourth of Nepal's population of 27.8 million. (AP Photo/Niranjan Shrestha)