اليمن: قانون العفو انتهاك للقانون الدولي وإخلال بالتزامات اليمن

17/1/2012

أقرت حكومة الوحدة الوطنية في اليمن في الأسبوع الماضي مشروع قانون يمنح الرئيس علي عبد الله صالح حصانة من المقاضاة في إطار اتفاق توسطت فيه دول الخليج وغيرها من الوسطاء الدوليين. ومن شأن هذا القانون أن يمنح عفواً لصالح ومساعديه في جميع الدوائر "الحكومية والمدنية والعسكرية"، يشمل فترة حكمه بأكملها، أي 33 عاماً.

وقد قوبل هذا القانون برفض شديد من جانب نشطاء حقوق الإنسان في اليمن وغيرها من البلدان، باعتباره إهانة للعدالة، ومثالاً ناصعاً لازدواجية معايير المجتمع الدولي التي تبيح لبعض الزعماء اقتراف انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والإفلات من العقاب. وقد صرحت المفوضة السامية لحقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة نافي بيلاي بأن القانون "سوف يشكل إخلالاً بالتزامات اليمن إزاء حقوق الإنسان".

وفي هذا البودكاست، يشدد بول سيلز، نائب رئيس المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية، على هذه النقطة، إذ يقول "إن القانون الدولي يضم بصفة جوهرية عدداً من المعاهدات التي انضم إليها اليمن، أو صادق عليها، والتي تلزمه بالتحقيق في الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان ومقاضاة مرتكبيها. وقانون العفو المقترح يخل بتلك الالتزامات إخلالاً واضحاً لا جدال فيه".

ويتناول سيلز الحالات التي صدرت فيها قرارات أو قوانين عفو عن مقاتلين سابقين، مما ساعد المجتمعات في مراحل انتقالها من حالة الصراع إلى بناء دولة يسودها الاستقرار والسلام. بيد أنه يرى أن أي محاولة لإصدار عفو عن الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان تعيد إلى الأذهان المحاولات البالية والباطلة للتعامل مع المراحل الانتقالية.

ويقول سيلز "إن الفكرة القائلة بأن المرء يمكنه ببساطة محو الماضي بالعفو، وخلق حالة من الفقدان الرسمي للذاكرة، والسماح بإفلات الجناة من العقاب بضمان رسمي – هي فكرة غير مقبولة في الوضع الحالي للقانون الدولي والعلاقات الدولية".

للاستماع الى البودكاست:

Yemen: Amnesty Law in Breach of International Law and Yemen’s Obligations

1/11/2012

Subscribe

Yemen’s national unity government last week adopted a draft law giving President Ali Abdullah Saleh immunity from prosecution as part of a deal brokered by Gulf states and other international sponsors. The law would give amnesty to Saleh and his aides in “all government, civil, and military” departments covering all 33 years of his rule.

Human rights activists in Yemen and elsewhere have vehemently rejected the law as an affront to justice and an illustration of double standards held by the international community, allowing some leaders to commit human rights violations with impunity. UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Navi Pillay said the law “would violate Yemen’s human rights obligations.”

Listen to the podcast:

Download | (8.38 MB)

In this podcast Paul Seils, ICTJ vice president, strongly underlines this point. “There are essentially a number of treaties in international law, to which Yemen has acceded or ratified, which require Yemen to investigate and prosecute gross violations of human rights. The proposed amnesty law is manifestly and uncontroversially in breach of those obligations.”

Seils discusses the cases where amnesties for former combatants have helped societies transition from conflict to a more stable and peaceful state. However, he contends, any attempt to provide amnesty for gross violations of human rights is a throwback to an outdated and discredited attempt to deal with transitions.

“The idea that you can simply amnesty away the past, provide for official amnesia, and guarantee official impunity, is unacceptable in the current state of international law and international relations.”