الجزائر

بحجّة تشجيع "المصالحة"، منحت الحكومة الجزائرية العفو إلى مرتكبي جرائم القتل والعنف التي أودت بحياة حوالى 150,000 شخص بين 1992 و2002. وقد عمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مع مجموعات المجتمع المدني المحلية في الجزائر للطعن بقوانين العفو والترويج للحقيقة والمحاسبة ولإنصاف الضحايا وعائلاتهم.

أفراد من عائلات بعض المفقودين أثناء الحرب الأهلية في الجزائر (أ.ف.ب)

الخلفية: غياب التعويض للضحايا

أدّت "الحرب الوسخة" التي شهدتها الجزائر في تسعينيات القرن الماضي إلى وقوع حوالى 150,000 قتيل واختفاء حوالى 7,000 شخص. وأدّى الإلغاء العسكري لنتائج الإنتخابات في العام 1992 إلى عنف كبير على يد قوّات أمن الدولة والمتمرّدين المسلّحين والميليشيات المدعومة من الدولة.

في العام 1999، منح الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة عفواً مشروطاً للمتمردين المستعدين للتخلّي عن السلاح. ومنذ ذلك الحين، خفّ العنف تدريجياً، ولكن لم يخضع أيّ من الحكومة أو مجموعات المتمرّدين للمحاسبة على أفعالهم بحق المدنيين.

في العام 2003، أسّس الرئيس لجنة للتحقيق في حالات الإختفاء. ومع أنّ تقريرها لم يُنشَر للعلن أبداً، فقد كشف رئيس اللجنة أن الدولة كانت مسؤولة عن 6,146 حالة إختفاء.

وفي عام 2005، وافق الناخبون على استفتاء حول ميثاق السلم والمصالحة الوطنية الذي اقترحه الرئيس بوتفليقة. وينصّ الميثاق على منح المتمرّدين المسلّحين العفو العام، وتبرئة قوى أمن الدولة ومنح بعض التعويضات للضحايا ولعائلاتهم. إلا أنّه لا يتضمن آلية بحث عن الحقيقة أو تحقيقاً في الإنتهاكات المرتكبة منذ 1991 ولا حتّى تدابير لإصلاح مؤسسات الدولة بهدف منع تكرار الإنتهاكات الماضية.

وقد طعن محامو حقوق الإنسان في الجزائر قانونياً بأحكام العفو الواردة في الميثاق، لكنّ القضية ما زالت عالقة أمام المحاكم الجزائرية. ولا تزال منظّمات الضحايا تناضل من أجل المحاسبة والحقيقة وجبر الضرر.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

بعد أن لجأ إلينا محامون جزائريون ومجموعات من المجتمع المدني في العام 2003، كان تركيزنا الأساسي على بناء القدرات وإسداء النصح حول كيفية معالجة مسألة المفقودين ودعم مطالبة الضحايا بالمحاسبة وجبر الضرر.

وبعد صدور المرسوم لتنفيذ ميثاق السلم والمصالحة الوطنية في العام 2006، عمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية على معالجة التحديات التي تطرحها أحكام العفو في الميثاق، وعلى دعم جهود جبر الضرر والبحث عن الحقيقة.

  • في تموز/يوليو 2006، نظّمنا اجتماعاً في بروكسيل للمجتمع المدني الجزائري ومنظّمات حقوق الإنسان الدولية لمناقشة العدالة الإنتقالية بعد الميثاق. على أثره، ساعد المركز المحامين الجزائرين في وضع تقرير "ودّي" يطعن بدستورية الميثاق وقانون العفو.
  • في أيار/مايو 2008، نظّمنا ورشة عمل لمدة 4 أيام في الرباط في المغرب، بالتعاون مع المركز المغربي لدراسة حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية للناشطين الجزائرين والدوليين في مجال حقوق الإنسان، ومحامي الضحايا وممثّليهم. وتضمّنت المواضيع البحث عن الحقيقة، وتوثيق الفظائع الجماعية وعلم الإنسان والطب الشرعي.
  • بعد محاولات عديدة لمركزنا لزيارة البلاد، تمّت الموافقة أخيراً على زيارة الجزائر العاصمة في كانون الثاني/يناير 2009. وبدعوة من البرلمان الجزائري، حضر وفد من المركز مؤتمراً حول المصالحة نُظِّم في البرلمان من إئتلاف يضمّ عدداً من الأحزاب السياسية. وخلال اجتماعات مع مسؤولين حكوميين، أصرَّينا على الحاجة إلى فتح الحوار مع المجتمع المدني ومنظّمات الضحايا حول كيفية معالجة مطالبهم.

ولا يزال المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية يرصد التطورات في مجال العدالة الإنتقالية ويساعد الفعاليات المحلية في جهودهم من أجل تحقيق المحاسبة والعدالة.

Under the pretense of promoting “reconciliation”, Algeria’s government granted amnesty to perpetrators of widespread killings and violence which left an estimated 150,000 dead between 1992 and 2002. ICTJ has worked with local civil society groups in Algeria to challenge amnesty laws and promote truth, accountability and redress for victims and their families.

Families members of disappeared from Algeria's civil war. (STR/AFP/Getty Images)

Background: No Redress for Victims

Algeria’s “dirty war” in the 1990s led to approximately 150,000 deaths and at least 7,000 disappeared. The 1992 military annulment of election results led to extreme violence by state security forces, armed rebels, and state-sponsored militias.

In 1999, President Abdelaziz Bouteflika granted conditional amnesty to insurgents willing to lay down their arms. Since then violence has steadily declined, but neither the government nor rebel groups have been held accountable for acting against civilians.

In 2003, the President established a commission to investigate the disappearances. Although its report was never publicly released, the head of the commission revealed that the state was responsible for 6,146 cases of disappearance.

In 2005 a referendum on the Charter for Peace and National Reconciliation proposed by President Bouteflika was approved by voters. The Charter provides amnesty to armed rebels, exonerates state security forces, and grated some compensations to victims and their families. However, it neither includes a truth-seeking mechanism or investigation into abuses committed since 1991 nor measures to reform state institution in order to prevent repetition of past violations.

Algerian human rights lawyers have legally challenged the Charter’s amnesty provisions but the case is still pending before Algerian courts. Also victims group continue to struggle for accountability, truth and reparations.

ICTJ's Role:

First approached for assistance by Algerian lawyers and civil society groups in 2003, our initial focus was on capacity building and providing advice on how to address the issue of the disappeared advance victims demands for accountability and redress.

Following the decree to implement the Charter for Peace and National Reconciliation in 2006, ICTJ has worked to address the challenges posed by the Charter’s amnesty provisions, and supported reparations and truth-seeking efforts.

  • In July 2006, we organized a meeting in Brussels for Algerian civil society and international human rights organizations to discuss transitional justice after the Charter. Following this, ICTJ helped Algerian lawyers with an [amicus brief] challenging the constitutionality of the Charter and the amnesty law.
  • In May 2008, with the Moroccan Center for the Study of Human Rights and Democracy, we organized a four-day workshop in Rabat, Morocco, for Algerian and international human rights activists, lawyers, and victims’ representatives. Topics included truth-seeking, documenting mass atrocities, and forensic anthropology.
  • After several attempts to visit the country, ICTJ was finally authorized to visit Algiers in January 2009. At the invitation of the Algerian Parliament, an ICTJ delegation attended a conference on reconciliation organized in parliament by a coalition of political parties. During meetings with government officials, we insisted on the need to open a dialogue with civil society and victims groups on how to address their demands.

ICTJ continues to monitor transitional justice developments and assist local actors in their efforts to achieve accountability and justice.