لبنان

يحمل لبنان إرثاً ثقيلاً من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان – التي لم يُعالَج أيّاً منها تقريباً بشكل جدّي أو شفّاف. ويعمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مع المجتمع المدني المحلي وصانعي السياسات في لبنان حول التدابير الآيلة إلى معالجة الماضي وتعزيز سيادة القانون.

بيروت، لبنان - صور للمفقودين في لبنان من موقع اعتصام الأهالي في وسط العاصمة (هاني مجلي)

الخلفية: لا عدالة، لا سلام

مع سلسلة من الحروب المتعاقبة والمتداخلة، والاحتلال الإسرائيلي، والوصاية السورية والاغتيالات التي طالت شخصيات بارزة، يحمل لبنان إرثاً ثقيلاً حافلاً بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي. وأبرزت دراسة أجراها الصليب الأحمر بعد حرب 1975-1990 أنّ 75% من المواطنين اللبنانيين كانت لهم "تجربة شخصية" في نزاع مسلّح.

ويتمّ السعي إلى تحقيق المحاسبة والتوصّل إلى الحقيقة بالنسبة إلى فترات متعاقبة. تشمل الفترة الأولى الحرب الممتدّة من 1975 إلى 1990 التي ضلع فيها عدد من اللاعبين المحليين والدوليين. وقد قُتِل أكثر من مئة ألف مدني واختفى حوالي 17,000 شخص خلال هذا النزاع.

ولم تُتَّخَذ أيّة تدابير جدّية لمعالجة هذه الانتهاكات كما ولم تتمّ ملاحقة أحد عليها، بسبب قانون عفو شامل صدر في عام 1991.

واستمرت الانتهاكات في الفترة ما بين 1990 و2005، وبقيت أجزاء من لبنان خاضعة للاحتلال الإسرائيلي والنفوذ السوري. وحتى بعد انسحاب الجيش السوري في نيسان/ابريل 2005، لم تستطع البلاد الهروب من دوامة العنف المتكررة.

في عام 2005، أدّى اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري وعدد من الشخصيات السياسية والفكرية في سلسلة من الاعتداءات المستهدفة، إلى تأسيس المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان في عام 2007.
وعلى الرغم من قيمة هذه المحكمة في تحقيق المحاسبة حول الاغتيالات التي طالت شخصيات معروفة، إلا أن وجودها يسلّط الضوء على غياب العدالة لمئات الآلاف من الأشخاص الذين سقطوا ضحية العنف السياسي في لبنان.

دمّرت حرب لبنان عام 2006 جزءاً كبيراً من البلاد، وجذب النزاع الأهلي الذي تلاها البلاد إلى حافة الصراع الداخلي في أزمة عام 2008. ومع تسرّب الحرب الأهلية السورية بقي المجتمع اللبناني والسياسة الداخلية في حالة اضطراب وانغماس في العنف.

في عام 2008، قدّمت منظّمات حقوق الإنسان ومنظمات الضحايا بياناً إلى رئيس الجمهورية ميشال سليمان يُطالب بجعل قضية المفقودين أولويّة وطنية. وقد أقرّ سليمان بالمسألة في خطاب القسم وتعهّدت الحكومات المتعاقبة بمعالجتها بشكل جدّي وشامل.

في آذار/ مارس 2014، أصدرت إحدى أرفع المؤسسات القضائية في البلاد – مجلس شورى الدولة – قراراً كرّس حق المعرفة لذوي المفقودين والمخفيين قسراً، إذ قضى المجلس بإلزام الحكومة نشر كامل ملفات لجنة عام 2000 والتي حققت في قضايا المخفيين. غير أن الحكومة لم تنفذ قرار المجلس بحجة أن نشر ملف التحقيقات يشكّل خطراً على السلم الأهلي.

وفي حزيران/ يونيو 2014، رفض مجلس شورى الدولة طلب لجنة القضايا في وزارة العدل بإعادة محاكمة ووقف تنفيذ قرار المجلس الصادر في آذار/مارس. ويعكس هذا الرفض تطوراً هاماً في أداء واستقلالية السلطة القضائية. وأخيراً، تم إعطاء عائلات المفقودين نسخة من ملف التحقيقات.

في نيسان/ ابريل 2014، اقترح نائبان في البرلمان اللبناني مشروع قانون الأشخاص المفقودين والمخفيين قسراً، الذي يدعو إلى تأسيس هيئة وطنية مستقلة، وبسلطة كاملة من أجل إدارة الملف. واستُلهم مشروع القانون بشكل كبير من وثيقة أعدها المركز الدولي للعدالة الإنتقالية، بمشاركة الأطراف المعنية ومن ضمنها مجموعات الضحايا في عام 2012.

ولكن على الرغم من كل التطورات، تواصل الجهات الفاعلة السياسية اللبنانية تجنب أو تأخير أي إجراء ملموس وأي مشاركة في المعاناة الجماعية الهائلة من العنف والأذى في البلاد.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

يقدّم المركز المساعدة والنصح إلى المجتمع المدني وصانعي السياسات الذين يعملون على ما ورثه لبنان من انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك الإخفاءات القسرية. وتهدف مشاركتنا إلى تمكينهم من الضغط بفعالية أكبر على الحكومة والمشرّعين لاتّخاذ خطوات واقعية لمعالجة هذه المسائل.

  • التصدي لإرث النزاع: في نضاله من أجل كسر دائرة العنف في لبنان، عمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مع شركائه على مشروع امتد على سنوات عدة، " لبنان: معالجة إرث النزاعات في مجتمع منقسم" وذلك من خلال جمع ومسح انتهاكات الماضي، وتحليل آثار الإفلات من العقاب على المجتمع، وكذلك دراسة تجارب وتصورات اللبنانيين حول الحقيقة والعدالة. واستناداً إلى نتائج هذه الدراسات والأبحاث وأعمال مناصرة قام بها تجمّع من الناشطين والخبراء ومجموعات الضحايا في لبنان، تم تقديم مجموعة من التوصيات لصانعي السياسات وعامة الجمهور للتعامل مع ماضي البلاد العنيف. كما ساهم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية في زيادة المعرفة حول كيفية عمل المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان من خلال ورش العمل والمحاضرات العامة والمنشورات ورحلة ميدانية إلى لاهاي للصحافيين. وقد تم إنجاز دليل عن المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان عام 2008.

  • البحث عن الحقيقة وحق المعرفة: يشجّع المركز إطلاق عمليات البحث عن الحقيقة لمعالجة الإخفاءات القسرية التي حصلت خلال الحرب الأهلية. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، فإننا نساعد الفاعلين المحليين والمجتمع المدني والأُسر من خلال أبحاثنا وخبراتنا في كفاحهم القانوني والعام من أجل الإقرار بمعاناتهم ووضع خاتمة لهذه المعاناة. قمنا مع شركائنا المحليين والدوليين بإعداد ونشر مشروع قانون الأشخاص المفقودين والمخفيين قسرا في لبنان والذي يشكل أداة رئيسية لاستكمال عمل المناصرة في هذه المسألة. ومع شركائنا، قام مشروعنا حول التاريخ الشفوي بعنوان ’بدنا نعرف‘ بإشراك طلاب من لبنان عبر تسجيل التجارب الشخصية لعائلاتهم وجيرانهم في ما يتعلق بالحرب والعنف. وتم إنتاج فيلم وثائقي من الشهادات التي جُمعت. مؤخراً، وبناء على المقابلات التي تم إجراءها مع 23 من زوجات الأشخاص المفقودين والمخفيين قسراً خلال الحرب الأهلية في لبنان، تم إصدار تقرير حول "أثر الإخفاءات على زوجات المفقودين في لبنان".

Lebanon carries a heavy legacy of human rights violations—almost none of which have been addressed in a serious or transparent manner. ICTJ works with local civil society and policymakers in Lebanon on measures to address the past and strengthen the rule of law.

Pictures from the “wall of the disappeared,” a memorial and protest in downtown Beirut, Lebanon, 2005. (Hanny Megally)

Background: No Justice, No Peace

With a succession of interrelated wars, two parallel occupations and a string of high-profile assassinations, Lebanon carries a heavy legacy of human rights and humanitarian law violations. A Red Cross study concluded that 75% of Lebanese citizens had “personal experience” of armed conflict.

There are successive periods for which truth and accountability is being sought. The first is the 1975–1990 war, in which a wide range of local and international actors were involved. Over 100,000 civilians were killed and approximately 17,000 disappeared in this conflict.
No serious measure has been taken to address these violations, and no one has ever been prosecuted for these abuses—due to a comprehensive amnesty law passed in 1991.

Abuses continued to be committed throughout 1990–2005, and parts of Lebanon remained under occupation by Israel and Syria. Even following the Syrian Army’s withdrawal in April 2005, the country has not been able to escape its recurring cycles of violence.

The 2005 assassination of former Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri and a number of political and intellectual figures in a series of targeted attacks led to the establishment of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) in 2007.

Despite its value in seeking accountability for high-profile assassinations, the STL’s presence highlights the lack of justice for the tens of thousands who have also been lost to political violence in Lebanon.

The 2006 Lebanon War devastated much of the country, and the ensuing civic unrest brought the nation to the brink of internal conflict in the 2008 crisis. With spillover from the Syrian Civil War, Lebanese society and politics remain restive and engulfed in violence.

In 2008, human rights organizations and victims’ groups presented a statement to President Michel Suleiman demanding that the issue of the disappeared be made a national priority. Suleiman acknowledged the issue in his oath statement, and the cabinet pledged to address it in a serious and comprehensive manner.

In March 2014, one of the highest judiciary institutions in the country, the State Shura Council, issued a decision that gave the relatives of the missing the right to know the fate of their loved ones. It has ruled that the government should disclose the files of the 2000 Commission that investigated cases of disappearances. However, the government refused to implement the court’s decision, on the grounds that the release of the investigation file would endanger civil peace.

In June 2014, the State Shura Council rejected the request of the Committee of Cases at the Ministry of Justice that called for a retrial and a suspension of the implementation of the State Shura Council’s decision issued in March. This decision reflects an important development in the judiciary authorities’ performance and independence. The families were finally provided with a copy of the government’s investigation file .

In April 2014, two Lebanese MPs proposed a draft law on the missing and forcibly disappeared persons that called for the establishment of an independent national commission with full powers to manage the file. The draft was largely inspired by the document ICTJ prepared in 2012 with several stakeholders, including victims’ groups.

However despite these breakthrough developments, Lebanese political actors continue to avoid or delay any meaningful action and engagement with the country’s overwhelming collective experience of violence and suffering.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ provides assistance and advice to civil society actors and policymakers working on Lebanon’s legacy of human rights violations, including forced disappearances. Our involvement aims to enable them to more effectively press government and lawmakers to take concrete steps to address these issues.

Addressing the Legacy of Conflict: In the struggle to break cycles of violence in Lebanon, ICTJ worked with its partners on a multi-year project, “Addressing the Legacy of Conflict in a Divided Society” to collect and map past violations, analyze the consequences of impunity on society and to survey Lebanon's residents' perceptions and expectations of truth and justice. Based on the findings of these studies, and on research and advocacy work carried out by a consortium of practitioners, experts, and victims’ groups in Lebanon, a set of policy recommendations to policymakers and the general public were developed for constructively dealing with the country’s violent past. ICTJ has also contributed to public understanding of the operations and ongoing work of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) through workshops, public lectures, and a field trip for journalists and publications. We produced a handbook on the STL in 2008.

Truth-seeking and the Right to Know: ICTJ encourages the creation of a truth-seeking process to address the enforced disappearances that occurred during the civil war. To that end we assist local actors, civil society and families through our research and experience in their legal and public struggles for recognition and closure. Together with our local and international partners we produced and disseminated a Draft Law for the Missing and Forcibly Disappeared Persons, a key tool and anchor for continuing advocacy on the issue. Together with our partners, our oral history project Badna Naaref (We Want to Know) had Lebanese students engage and record their immediate families and neighbors about their personal experiences of war and violence. From this testimony a documentary was produced. More recently, based on interviews conducted with 23 wives of missing or disappeared persons during Lebanon’s civil war, a report was produced examining the impact of disappearance on wives of the missing in Lebanon.

Updated April 8, 2015