أوغندا

أدت عقوداً من الحرب الأهلية في أوغندا لانتهاكات واسعة النطاق على أيدي الجهات الحكومية وغير الحكومية، بما في ذلك عمليات القتل والعنف الجنسي وانتشار استخدام الجنود الأطفال. يتعاون المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مع قادة المجتمع المدني في البلاد لطلب التعويض عن هذه الجرائم والدعوة لإدماج ناجح للضحايا ومحاسبة مرتكبي الانتهاكات.

كمبالا، 16 فبراير 2011: مؤيد لزعيم المعارضة بيسيجي، خلال حملة الانتخابات الرئاسية.

الخلفية:

بعد حصولها على الاستقلال في عام 1962، عانت أوغندا ما يقرب من عقدين من الحرب الأهلية تحت ميلتون أوبوتي الأول (1962-1971) وعيدي أمين (1971-1979) وميلتون أوبوتي الثاني (1980-1985). خلال هذه الفترة، تشير التقديرات إلى أن أكثر من 300،000 شخصاً لقوا حتفهم.

في عام 1979، غزا المنفيون الأوغنديون، بما في ذلك الآن الرئيس الحالي يوري موسيفيني، البلاد. في أعقاب حرب العصابات، اكتسب موسيفيني وجيش المقاومة الوطنية (NRA) السيطرة على البلاد في عام 1986 وعقد صفقات مع عدد قوات التمرد.

ومع ذلك، استمرت حركة تمرد واحدة: جيش الرب للمقاومة ، في صراع طال أمده مع الجيش الأوغندي في الجزء الشمالي من البلاد. وتضمن النزاع انتهاكات وحشية لحقوق الإنسان ارتكبت من الجانبين، بما في ذلك القتل والعنف الجنسي والخطف على نطاق واسع واستخدام جيش الرب للمقاومة المتفشي للجنود الأطفال. بين أعوام 979-2005 تم اختطاف ما يُقدر ب 75،000 طفلا واضطروا للعمل كمقاتلين وحمالين وعبيد جنسيين.

وعلى الرغم من محادثات السلام بين 2006-2008، لم تكن الحكومة قادرة على وضع حد للصراع مع جيش الرب للمقاومة. وعلى الرغم من ذلك تقلص نشاط جيش الرب للمقاومة بشكل كبير في السنوات الأخيرة، وتم القبض على عدد من قادته. ومنذ انتهاء محادثات السلام، تعهدت الحكومة بتنفيذ عدد من تدابير العدالة الانتقالية. ومع ذلك، لم تؤت تلك السياسات ثمارها ويضغط النشطاء الأوغنديون حالياً على البلاد لمساءلة الجناة وتوفير سبل الانتصاف للضحايا.

ويُعقّد الوضع السياسي في البلاد الكفاح من أجل العدالة. لا يزال موسيفيني في السلطة منذ عام 1986، ويشكك النقاد في شرعية الانتخابات، بما في ذلك سباق عام 2016 الذي وضع خلاله منافسه كيزا بيسيجي تحت الإقامة الجبرية قبل وقت قصير من الإدلاء بالأصوات.

محادثات السلام والتدابير الانتقالية

في عام 2006، بدأت الحكومة وجيش الرب للمقاومة محادثات السلام في جوبا لإنهاء الصراع. انتهت المحادثات في عام 2008 دون أي اتفاق رسمي، لأن زعيم جيش الرب جوزيف كوني اشترط توقيعه النهائي بإلغاء مذكرات المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بالاعتقال بحقه وأربعة من كبار قادته.

وعلى الرغم من عدم وجود اتفاق مُوقع، أدت محادثات جوبا إلى خمس نقاط هامة نفذتها الحكومة بعد عام 2008. وشمل ذلك الاتفاق على المساءلة والمصالحة (AAR)، الذي شرع في عملية البحث عن الحقيقة والتعويضات وتدابير غير رسمية جنائية ومدنية ضد مرتكبي الجرائم الخطيرة أو انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

في عام 2008، تم تأسيس مجموعة العمل المعنية بالعدالة الانتقالية من قبل الحكومة تحت "رعاية قطاع العدالة والنظام" (JLOS). تم توكيل الفريق العامل بالإشراف على تنفيذ عمليات العدالة الانتقالية المَنصوص عليها في اتفاق جوبا على المساءلة والمصالحة. وقد وضع الفريق مسودات متعاقبة لسياسة عدالة انتقالية وطنية تنص على مجموعة من تدابير العدالة الانتقالية لتقديم المساءلة عن الجرائم التي ارتكبت خلال النزاع وإنصاف الضحايا، وفي نهاية المطاف تعزيز المصالحة الوطنية. تنتظر مسودة قانون العدالة الانتقالية موافقة مجلس الوزراء منذ عام 2014، ويناضل المجتمع المدني حاليا لأجل أن يتم الموافقة عليها وتنفيذها كما وُعد.

وقد أعربت منظمات المجتمع المدني أيضا قلقها بشأن العملية الانتقالية التي يُنظر إليها كعدالة انتقائية، تُركز في معظمها على الشمال وعلى الجرائم التي ارتكبها جيش الرب للمقاومة في حين تتجاهل مزاعم ضد الجيش والانتهاكات التي ارتكبها ضد المجتمع المدني والسكان المدنيين في أماكن أخرى في البلاد.

البحث عن المساءلة ونزع السلاح

سعت أوغندا بعض المحاسبة للمسؤولين عن العنف بينما شجعت في الوقت نفسه نزع السلاح على نطاق واسع من الجماعات المسلحة. في السعي لتحقيق هذين الهدفين ، دعت أوغندا مُدّعِي المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، واتهمت جناة مزعومين في المحاكم الوطنية. مررت الحكومة أيضاً قانون منح عفوٍ لبعض المتمردين من أجل إنهاء الأعمال العدائية.

هذا القانون، قانون العفو، صدر في عام 2000. ويمنح شكلا من أشكال الحصانة من الملاحقة القضائية للمقاتلين غير الحكوميين. تم تطبيق القانون لنزع سلاح 26000 متمرداً حتى الآن، حوالي نصفهم من أعضاء جيش الرب للمقاومة.

لا يخلو قانون العفو من الجدل: فقد تم تفسيره عند نقطة ما ليشمل العفو عن الجرائم الدولية، مثل جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية. وقد تم تضييق ذلك التفسير في نهاية المطاف باستبعاد الجرائم الدولية من قبل المحكمة العليا الأوغندية في عام 2015، عندما حكمت أن قائد جيش الرب للمقاومة السابق توماس كوويلو لا يستحق العفو. سمح القرار بمقاضاة كوويلو من قبل شعبة الجرائم الدولية من المحكمة العليا في أوغندا، التي أُنشئت للنظر في القضايا المتعلقة بالجرائم الدولية التي يرتكبها أي من جانبي الصراع. لاتزال محاكمة كوويلو جارية.

وإضافة للملاحقات القضائية المحلية للجرائم الدولية، أشركت الحكومة الأوغندية أيضا المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في إيقاف الجناة للمساءلة. ففي عام 2003 أحالت الحكومة الأوغندية الوضع في الشمال إلى لاهاي، وفي عام 2005 أصدرت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية مذكرات اعتقال لخمسة من قادة جيش الرب للمقاومة: جوزيف كوني، وفنسنت أوتي، راسكا لوكويا، وأوكوت أوديامبو ودومينيك أونغوين. في عام 2015، استسلم دومينيك أونغوين إلى القوات الخاصة الأمريكية وتم نقله إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. يواجه أونغوين الآن المحاكمة بتهمة ارتكاب 70 جريمة ضد الإنسانية وجرائم حرب، بما في ذلك الاسترقاق الجنسي والزواج القسري. وقد تم تأكيد وفاة لوكويا وأوديامبو، ولكن يبقى كوني وأوتي.

تسلط قضية أونغوين الضوء على العديد من معوقات العدالة في أوغندا، حيثما تم تجنيد أونغوين تجنيده نفسه قسراً إلى جيش الرب للمقاومة كجندي طفل وصعد إلى صفوف الجيش خلال أسره. أونغوين هو أول متهم أمام المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بتهمة ارتكاب جرائم كان هو ضحية لها . وهو أيضاً أول من يحاكم في محكمة دولية بتهم بالزواج القسري منفصلة عن الاستعباد الجنسي والانتهاكات الجنسية الأخرى.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

يعمل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية منذ عام 2005 لدعم جهود أوغندا في بناء سلام مستقر عن طريق تأمين كرامة ضحايا الصراع، ولا سيما النساء والشباب. كما يقدم المشورة الفنية للجهود الجارية لمساءلة الجناة.

الأطفال الذين وُلدوا من الحرب وأمهاتهم: في عام 2015، قام المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية بتقييم لحالة الأطفال الذين وُلدن لنساء تعرضن للاختطاف من قبل جيش الرب للمقاومة، وأُجبرن في كثير من الأحيان على الزواج من قادة جيش الرب للمقاومة. عندما يستطعن العودة من السبي، يواجه هؤلاء النساء والأطفال في كثير من الأحيان وصمة العارالاجتماعية والرفض وعدم كفاية فرص الحصول على التعليم والرعاية الصحية وغيرها من الخدمات. حدد تقييم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية الاحتياجات التعويضية لهذه الفئة من السكان المهمشين واقترح طرقا ملموسة للحكومات الوطنية والمحلية لااخاذ خطوات لمعالجة هذه الانتهاكات. يواصل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية للعمل مع منظمات الضحايا المنصرفة لتحقيق العدالة لهذه الفئة من السكان، وأنتج فيلماً بعنوان "أنا لست من يعتقدونه" لاستكشاف التحديات الفريدة التي تواجهها النساء وأطفالهن.

مشروع توثيق حقوق الإنسان: في عام 2015، بدأت لجنة حقوق الإنسان في أوغندا (UHRC) مشروع توثيق حقوق الإنسان الوثائق (HRDP)، وهي أول عملية رسمية للدولة لتسجيل الانتهاكات التي ارتكبت بين عامي 1986 و2007. المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية هو عضو في اللجنة الاستشارية لHRDP، ويوفر المساعدة التقنية والدعم للفرق الفنية في UHRC وHRDP. كما سهل المركزالتعاون بين UHRC والمجتمع المدني لضمان أن يعكس المشروع أولويات الضحايا، وأن يشارك الضحايا بشكل ذا مغزى في ذلك.

تعزيز قدرة الضحايا والمجتمع المدني: قدم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية المساعدة التقنية وبناء القدرات لمنظمات المجتمع المدني ومجموعات الضحايا في أوغندا. ونتيجة لهذه التدخلات، كانت جماعات المجتمع المدني المختلفة قادرة على المشاركة والحشد لقضايا العدالة الانتقالية مختلفة والمساهمة في تطوير العملية العدالة الانتقالية. يعمل المركز مع منظمات الضحايا في بناء قدراتها للدفاع عن العدالة، ويخلق منصات للضحايا لإيصال صوت همومهم إلى الجهات الحكومية.

دعم شعبة الجرائم الدولية: أُنشئت شعبة الجرائم الدولية من المحكمة العليا في أوغندا في عام 2008 للتحقيق في الجرائم الدولية والعابرة للحدود مثل الجرائم ضد الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية وجرائم الحرب والإرهاب والقرصنة والاتجار بالأشخاص. وعرض المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية التدريب والتبادل القضائي، وقدم المشورة بشأن مجموعة من القضايا بما في ذلك العفو وحماية الشهود ومشاركة الضحية والتوعية. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، بوصفه عضوا في فرقة عمل خاصة شكلتها لجنة التصنيف الدولي للأمراض ومن منظمة محامون بلا حدود، قدم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية المشورة والمساندة الفنية لدعم تطوير القواعد الإجرائية وقواعد الإثبات.

تقديم الدعم لتطوير السياسة الوطنية للعدالة الانتقالية: يقدم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مساعدة التقنية واسعة النطاق لقطاع العدالة والنظام (JLOS) لدعم صياغة سياسة لعدالة انتقالية في إطار فعال ومتكامل يركز على الضحية. كما سهل المركز إشراك مجموعة واسعة من أصحاب المصلحة في عملية وضع السياسات.

البحث: أجرى المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية بحوثا ودراسات على مجموعة من المواضيع بما في ذلك التعويضات والعدالة بين الجنسين والبحث عن الحقيقة والتكامل. وتهدف هذه الدراسات إلى التأثير على عمليات وضع السياسات على المستوى الوطني، والاستفادة من التجارب المقارنة من سياقات أخرى، وكذلك من وجهات نظر الضحايا والأولويات في البحث عن الحقيقة وجبر الضرر.

Uganda

Decades of civil strife in Uganda has resulted in widespread abuse at the hands of state and non-state actors, including killings, sexual violence and pervasive use of child soldiers. ICTJ partners with civil society leaders in the country to seek redress for these crimes, advocating for the successful reintegration of victims and accountability for perpetrators.

Kampala, 16 Feb 2011: a supporter of opposition leader Besigye, during the Presidential elections campaigning

Background:

After gaining independence in 1962, Uganda endured nearly two decades of civil strife under Milton Obote I (1962–1971) Idi Amin (1971–1979) and Milton Obote II (1980-85). During this period, it is estimated that over 300,000 people died.

In 1979, exiled Ugandans—including now-President Yoweri Museveni—invaded the country. Following a guerrilla war, Museveni and the National Resistance Army (NRA) gained control of the country in 1986 and made deals with a number of counter-insurgencies.

However, one insurgency—the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA)—has engaged in a prolonged, ongoing conflict with the Ugandan military in the northern part of the country. The conflict featured brutal human rights violations committed by both sides, including killings, sexual violence, widespread kidnappings and the LRA’s pervasive use of child soldiers. An estimated 75,000 children were abducted and forced to serve as combatants, porters, and sexual slaves from 1979 to 2005.

Despite holding peace talks from 2006 to 2008, the government has not been able to bring an end to the conflict with the LRA. The LRA’s activity has nonetheless greatly diminished in recent years, as several of its leaders have been captured. Since the peace talks ended, the government has pledged to implement a number of transitional justice measures. However, those policies have yet to come to fruition, and Ugandan activists are currently pressuring the country to hold perpetrators to account and provide redress to victims.

Compounding the fight for justice is the country’s political situation. Musevini has been in power since 1986, and critics questioned the legitimacy of his last two elections—including the 2016 race, during which his opponent, Kizza Besigye, was placed under house arrest shortly before ballots were cast.

Peace Talks and Transitional Measures

In 2006, the government and the LRA began the Juba Peace Talks to end the conflict. The talks ended in 2008 without any formal agreement, because the LRA leader Joseph Kony conditioned his final signature on the cancellation of the standing International Criminal Court (ICC) arrest warrants against him and four of his top commanders.

Despite the lack of signed agreement, the Juba talks did lead to five significant points which the government implemented after 2008. This included the Agreement on Accountability and Reconciliation (AAR), which instituted a truth-seeking process, reparations, and formal criminal and civil measures against perpetrators of serious crimes or human rights violations.

In 2008, the Transitional Justice Working Group was established by the government under the Justice Law and Order Sector (JLOS). The Working Group was charged with overseeing the implementation of the transitional justice processes provided for under the Juba agreement on accountability and reconciliation. It has developed successive drafts of a national transitional justice policy which provides for a combination of transitional justice measures to deliver accountability for crimes perpetrated during the conflict, to afford redress to victims and ultimately promote national reconciliation. The draft TJ policy has been pending cabinet approval since 2014, and civil society is currently fighting for those policies to be approved and implemented, as promised.

Civil society organizations have also expressed concern over the perceived selective transitional justice process, which mostly focuses on the north and on crimes committed by the LRA while ignoring allegations against the Ugandan military and abuses committed against civil society and civilian populations elsewhere in the country.

Seeking Accountability and Disarmament

Uganda has sought some accountability from those most responsible for violence while simultaneously encouraging widespread disarmament of armed groups. In pursuit of these two goals it has invited prosecution from the ICC and charged alleged perpetrators in national courts. It has also passed a law granting amnesty to some insurgents in order to end hostilities.

That law, the Amnesty Act, was passed in 2000. It grants a form of immunity from prosecution to non-state combatants. The law has been applied to 26,000 disarming rebels to date, about half of whom were LRA members.

The Amnesty Act is not without its controversy: it was interpreted at one point to include amnesty for international crimes, such as war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide. That interpretation was ultimately narrowed to exclude international crimes by the Supreme Court in 2015, when it ruled former LRA commander Thomas Kwoyelo ineligible for amnesty. The decision allowed Kwoyelo to be prosecuted by the International Crimes Division of Uganda’s High Court, which was established to hear cases related to international crimes committed by either side of the conflict. Kwoyelo’s trial is ongoing.

Beyond its domestic prosecution of international crimes, the Ugandan government has also involved the ICC in holding perpetrators to account. In 2003, the Ugandan government referred the situation in the north to The Hague, and in 2005 the ICC issued arrest warrants for five top LRA commanders: Joseph Kony, Vincent Otti, Raska Lukwiya, Okot Odhiambo and Dominic Ongwen. In 2015, Dominic Ongwen surrendered to US Special Forces and was transferred to the ICC. Ongwen now faces trial for 70 charges of crimes against humanity and war crimes, including sexual slavery and forced marriage. Lukwiya and Odhiambo have been confirmed deceased, but Kony and Otti remain at large.

The Ongwen case highlights many of the complications of justice in Uganda, as Ongwen himself was forcibly recruited to the LRA as a child soldier and moved up the ranks of the LRA during his captivity. Ongwen is the first accused person to face trial at the ICC for crimes of which he was also a victim. He is also the first to be tried in an international court for forced marriage as separate from sexual slavery and other sexual violations.

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ has worked since 2005 to support Uganda’s efforts to build a stable peace by securing the dignity of the victims of conflict, particularly women and young people. It has also provided technical advice to ongoing efforts to hold perpetrators accountable.

Children Born of War and their Mothers: In 2015, ICTJ conducted an assessment of the situation of children born to women who had been abducted by the LRA, and oftentimes forced to marry LRA commanders. When they are able to return from captivity, these women and their children often face social stigma, rejection, and inadequate access to education, healthcare and other services. ICTJ’s assessment identified the reparative needs of this marginalized population and suggested concrete ways for the national and local governments to take steps to redress the violations. ICTJ continues to work with victims’ organizations dedicated to seeking justice for this population, and produced the film “I Am Not What They Think I Am” exploring the unique challenges the women and their children face.

Human Rights Documentation Project: In 2015, the Uganda Human Rights Commission (UHRC) initiated a Human Rights Documentation Project (HRDP), the first official state process to record violations committed between 1986 and 2007. ICTJ is a member of the Advisory committee of the HRDP, providing technical assistance and capacity support to the UHRC and HRDP technical team. It also facilitates collaboration between the UHRC and civil society to ensure that the project reflects victims’ priorities, and that victims participate meaningfully in it.

Strengthening the capacity of victims and civil society: ICTJ has provided technical assistance and capacity building to civil society organizations and victims’ groups in Uganda. As a result of these interventions, different civil society groups have been able to engage and mobilize around different transitional justice issues and contribute to the development of the transitional justice process. ICTJ works with victims’ organizations to build their capacity to advocate for justice, and creates platforms for victims to interact with voice their concerns to state actors.

Support to the International Crimes Division: The International Crimes Division of the High Court of Uganda was established in 2008 to investigate and prosecute international and transnational crimes such as crimes against humanity, war crimes genocide, terrorism, piracy and trafficking in persons. ICTJ has offered judicial training and exchanges, and provided expert advice on a range of issues including amnesty, witness protection, victim participation and outreach. Most recently, as a member of a special task force formed by the ICD and from Avocat San Frontiers, ICTJ offered technical advice to support the development of the ICD’s Rules of Procedure and Evidence.

Support to the development of the National Transitional Justice Policy: ICTJ offered extensive technical assistance to JLOS to support the formulation of an effective, integrated and victim-centered national transitional justice policy framework. ICTJ also facilitated the involvement of a broad range of stakeholders in the policy development process.

Research ICTJ has conducted research and studies on a range of topics including reparations, gender justice, truth seeking and complementarity. These studies are aimed at informing policy development processes at the national level, drawing from comparative experiences from other contexts, as well as victims’ perspectives and priorities on truth seeking and reparations.