مجتمع أسود تاريخي في الولايات المتحدة يقاوم المحو

مع المضي قدمًا في خطط بناء مركز توزيع ضخم لـ Wegmans، يطالب سكان المجتمع الأسود التاريخي في براون جروف، فيرجينيا، بالاعتراف وجبر الضرر.

26/04/2022

بقلم شون يويس

في ليلة سبت باردة في فبراير، اجتمع العديد من أعضاء مجموعة براون جروف للحفظ في Around the Table، وهو مطعم للطعام الروحي مملوك للسود في أشلاند القريبة، فيرجينيا. في معظم الليل، انطلقت هدير الضحك من المائدة الكبيرة، حيث كان الأعضاء، وجميعهم مرتبطون بالدم أو الزواج، يتناولون العشاء على سمك السلور المقلي، وقطع لحم الخنزير، والكرنب الأخضر، وأطباق جنوبية أخرى ويثيرون بعضهم بعضًا بطريقة مرحة. لكن المزاج المبتهج سرعان ما تحول إلى الكآبة عندما ظهر موضوع البناء المخطط له لمركز توزيع Wegmans على مساحة 1.1 مليون قدم مربع في قلب مدينتهم.

تأسست براون جروف عام 1870 من قبل الأمريكيين المستعبدين سابقًا، ولا تزال مجتمعًا أسودًا صغيرًا ومتماسكًا. لسوء الحظ، فإن التطور التجاري الوشيك يهدد بعرقلة هذا المكان السلمي وتاريخه الثري.

كان السكان والنشطاء وغيرهم خائفين على مستقبل مجتمعهم منذ أن أعلن حاكم ولاية فرجينيا السابق رالف نورثهام في بيان رسمي أصدرته مقاطعة هانوفر في عام 2019 أن Wegmans Food Market ، Inc. تنوي استثمار 175 مليون دولار على مدى ثلاث سنوات لتأسيسها. عملية توزيع إقليمية كاملة الخدمات في المنطقة.

على الرغم من مقاومة المجتمع الواسعة ، والجدل حول عمليات الحصول على التصاريح الحاسمة ، والتدنيس المحتمل لمواقع الدفن المقدسة ، والعديد من المخاوف البيئية (ستعرض المنشأة المستقبلية للخطر عدة أفدنة من الأراضي الرطبة المحمية فيدراليًا) ، فقد بدأ البناء. يخطط Wegmans لفتح مركز التوزيع في وقت ما في عام 2023. كل هذا يأتي بمباركة واضحة من مقاطعة هانوفر وكومنولث فيرجينيا. قال عضو مجموعة الحفظ والمؤرخة غير الرسمية للمجتمع ديان سميث دريك ، على طبق من سمك السلور المقلي: "لا تريد المقاطعة الاعتراف ببراون جروف". وأضافت رينادا هاريس ، رئيسة المجموعة: "لم يحدث قط".

تاريخ من التعديات الصناعية التي تقرها الدولة 

لما يقرب من 70 عامًا، يبدو أن Brown Grove ، المعترف بها من قبل قلة من خارج المجتمع، كان دائمًا خيارًا مطروحًا على الطاولة عندما سعت ولاية فرجينيا ومقاطعة هانوفر لتوسيع الصناعة. على سبيل المثال، في أواخر الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي، بدأ بناء I-95، مما أدى في النهاية إلى قطع براون جروف إلى النصف. (تم توسيع الطريق السريع في وقت لاحق في براون جروف بين عامي 2015 و 2017.) في عام 1969 ، تم بناء مطار مقاطعة هانوفر المحلي في المدينة. بعد سنوات، أجبر التوسيع المقترح لهذا المطار بعض السكان على الانتقال ، على الرغم من أنه وفقًا لقادة المجتمع ، لم يحدث التوسيع في الواقع. هناك أيضًا مصنعان للخرسانة تم بناؤهما في براون جروف أو بالقرب منه مباشرة. وفي عام 1987 ، بدأ العمل في مكب نفايات تجاري - أو "مكب جذع"، كما يطلق عليه غالبًا - ومركز إعادة التدوير في المجتمع التاريخي.

"عندما تعيش في مجتمع حيث تكون بالقرب من [I-] 95 ، لديك الأبخرة ؛ وقال هاريس ، والأهم من ذلك ، أننا عند محطة شاحنات ، لذلك لديك كل الانبعاثات من مقطورات الجرارات ، ولديك أبخرة من الطائرات تحلق في سماء المنطقة كل يوم. "تمتص هذه الأشجار التلوث…. وأضافت أنه عندما لا يكون لديك تلك الأشجار لامتصاص التلوث، فإن ذلك يؤثر على جودة الهواء لدينا ، والجذور من تلك الأشجار تحمي مياه الآبار التي يمتلكها بعض المجتمع.

بالأبيض والأسود ، يتحدث رجل إلى ثلاثة أشخاص جالسين في مقعد الكنيسة.
يتحدث ديكون سبيرلوك مع رعايا الكنيسة المعمدانية في البستان البني قبل خدمة الساعة العاشرة صباحًا. (شون يوس / المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية)

أوضح كينيث سبورلوك، رئيس مجلس إدارة الشماس: "على مر السنين، رأينا الأشياء تتدهور ببطء ، وأصبح المجتمع أصغر وأصغر، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى الصناعة والأشياء التي كانت تجري والأشياء المحتملة القادمة" المجلس في كنيسة براون جروف المعمدانية. يلاحظ ديكون سبورلوك التأثيرات الجيلية لهذا التعدي المستمر. "من الصعب في عالم اليوم على الأطفال الذين نشأوا هنا أن يعودوا عندما يكون لديك الكثير من بناء الصناعة. من الصعب أن أقول ، "حسنًا ، سأبني منزلاً في براون جروف بجوار مصنع الخرسانة." أو "سأشتري منزل والدتي وأعيش هنا بجوار مكب النفايات." والآن لديك Wegmans قادمون عبر الشارع ".

وُلد ديكون سبورلوك ونشأ في مقاطعة كينغ ويليام بولاية فيرجينيا ، وانتقل إلى براون جروف في عام 1988 ، عندما تزوج زوجته ميليندا ، التي عاشت عائلتها في المجتمع الأسود التاريخي لعدة أجيال. منذ ذلك الحين ، كان قلب Spurlock في Brown Grove. "نحن دائما ملقاة على عاتقنا. لدينا أناس محبون ، أناس مهتمون ، ندفع ضرائب ، ونحن منخرطون في المجتمعات. الكنيسة تقوم بأطنان من التوعية "، أوضح. "ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بهذا المجتمع ، أعتقد أنهم يعتبرونه أكثر من قطعة عقارات قيمة للصناعة."

نمط اضطراب المجتمعات السوداء

لسوء الحظ ، فإن منشأة Wegmans ليست التوغل الصناعي الأول من نوعه. تكرر هذا النمط من تعطيل المجتمعات السوداء عن طريق المشاريع الفيدرالية أو الحكومية أو المحلية على مدى عقود ، في ولاية فرجينيا وفي جميع أنحاء البلاد.

على سبيل المثال ، تعرضت يونيون هيل ، فيرجينيا ، وهي جماعة أخرى ذات أغلبية من السود أسسها عبيد سابقون بعد الحرب الأهلية ، للتهديد بالمثل من خلال إنشاء خط أنابيب بطول 600 ميل من ساحل المحيط الأطلسي. مثل براون جروف ، كان السكان يخشون اقتلاع المقابر التاريخية ، فضلاً عن زيادة تلوث الهواء والماء المرتبط بمحطة ضاغط ضرورية لاستكمال خط الأنابيب. في العام الماضي ، اجتمعوا وتمكنوا من منع بناء خط الأنابيب ، مما يدل على قوة مشاركة المجتمع والعمل الجماعي.

على المستوى الوطني ، أدت المشاريع المشتركة بين الولايات الممولة اتحاديًا إلى تعطيل العديد من مجتمعات السود وغيرهم من المجتمعات المحرومة. بعد أن وقع الرئيس دوايت دي أيزنهاور قانون المساعدة الفيدرالية للطرق السريعة لعام 1956 ، كان براون جروف واحدًا من أوائل المجتمعات السوداء التي تأثرت سلبًا ببناء الطريق السريع 95 (I-95) ، والذي بدأ في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي. يعد القرب من I-95 أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي ذكرها Wegmans لاختيار Brown Grove كموقع لمنشأة التوزيع الخاصة به. قسمت مشاريع أخرى مماثلة مجتمعات السود في ديترويت ولوس أنجلوس وميامي وناشفيل ونيو أورلينز ، من بين العديد من الآخرين.

"ما يحدث في براون جروف ليس حالة شاذة. هذا مجتمع حُرم مرارًا وتكرارًا من حقوقه الأساسية. ولسوء الحظ ، فإن هذا الحرمان من الحقوق هو جزء من النمط الأكبر للعنصرية النظامية في الولايات المتحدة التي تحتاج إلى الاعتراف بها ومعالجتها ومنعها"، أوضحت فيرجيني لاديش ، كبيرة الخبراء في المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية (ICTJ)، وهي منظمة تعمل في مجتمعات حول العالم تتصارع مع إرث الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان.

السعي للحصول على الإنصاف من أحدث الظلم في براون جروف

واليوم ، يكمن الخوف في أن وصول منشأة Wegmans سيجعل الحياة في هذا المجتمع الذي كان ذات يوم شاعرية لا تطاق. المعروف باسم موقع Air Park Associates ، تقع قطعة الأرض الكبيرة غير المطورة التي ستضم المركز الضخم مباشرةً عبر الشارع من كنيسة Brown Grove المعمدانية الموقرة على طريق Ashcake. مدخل الموظف المستقبلي ، والذي سوف يستوعب ما يقرب من 700 عامل Wegmans ، وسيقف على بعد أمتار قليلة من مدخل الكنيسة. ستتعدى المنشأة بشكل مباشر على العديد من العقارات التي يملكها سكان براون جروف ، وهناك قلق كبير بشأن احتمالية زيادة حركة المرور والضوضاء بشكل كبير ، فضلاً عن انخفاض جودة الهواء والماء.

سوف يلقي مرفق التوزيع الضخم أيضًا بظلاله على قلب المجتمع: كنيسة براون جروف المعمدانية. يصر السكان على أن وجود المنشأة سيتطلب منهم بناء مركز مركزي آخر لمختلف الأنشطة التي تخدم براون جروف وكذلك المجتمعات المجاورة. "نود مركزًا مجتمعيًا. عندما تستبعد قدرة أطفالنا على اللعب بحرية ... بسبب الحوادث التي ستسببها زيادة حركة المرور ، نريد مكانًا يمكنهم فيه القدوم ليكونوا آمنين ، بعيدًا عن الطريق حيث يمكنهم ممارسة الرياضة دون أن يضطروا إلى التنفس في أي تلوث قال هاريس. "ليس من الضروري أن تكون لدينا أنشطة في الكنيسة ؛ يمكن أن نجعلهم في مركز مجتمعي ، ليس فقط للكنيسة ولكن أيضًا في آشلاند وهانوفر بأكملها ".

كان لدى Wegmans بالتأكيد خيارات أخرى إلى جانب Brown Grove. في الواقع ، نظرت في العديد من المواقع ، بما في ذلك مواقع متعددة في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ، لكن فرجينيا أعطت Wegmans ما لا يقل عن 4 ملايين دولار وحوافز أخرى لتشجيع الشركة على القدوم إلى الولاية. حتى داخل ولاية فرجينيا ، كان لدى Wegmans أربعة خيارات أخرى على الأقل. يُزعم أنها اختارت براون جروف على موقع بنفس الحجم في مقاطعة هانوفر الشمالية. كان هذا الموقع متعاقدًا مؤقتًا مع تاجر تحسين المنزل Lowe's في مرحلة ما ، لكن الصفقة تعثرت وظل الكثير غير مشغول.

جاء في البيان الرسمي لمقاطعة هانوفر للإعلان عن التطوير: "عملت شراكة التنمية الاقتصادية في فيرجينيا مع مقاطعة هانوفر وشراكة ريتشموند الكبرى لمساعدة Wegmans في العثور على عقار يمكن أن يلبي احتياجاتها في فرجينيا." ومع ذلك ، فإن المفارقة بالنسبة للكثيرين في براون جروف هي أن ولاية فرجينيا ومقاطعة هانوفر من الواضح أنهما أعطتا اهتمامًا ضئيلًا أو لم يعطيا أي اعتبار لاحتياجات سكان براون جروف. كما قال هاريس ، "سيستفيد Wegmans من ثروة الأجيال نيابة عن الظلم الصناعي الذي فرضه هانوفر على براون جروف."

المركز المجتمعي الذي يطلبه السكان هو إحدى الطرق لتخفيف الضرر الذي سيحدثه مركز التوزيع. كما يدعو السكان إلى اتخاذ إجراءات للحفاظ على تاريخ براون غروف الغني والمكتوب ، وهو تاريخ يمثل إلى حد كبير سجل الولايات المتحدة الطويل من العنصرية المنهجية.

يجب الحفاظ على الذاكرة التاريخية لبراون جروف

يحمل سكان براون جروف الحاليون معهم الحقائق الثقيلة لأسلافهم. بعد 10 صباحًا من خدمة الكنيسة في كنيسة براون جروف المعمدانية في أحد أيام الأحد الأخيرة ، توجهت المؤرخة غير الرسمية ديان سميث دريك إلى مقبرة صغيرة غير موصوفة بالقرب من منطقة حرجية في ممتلكات الكنيسة. تم دفن العديد من أسلاف سميث دريك هناك ، وجميعهم ساعدوا في بناء الكنيسة. أوضح سميث دريك أن "ستة أشخاص بدأوا" مرفأ الفرشاة "في عام 1870 ، والذي كان بعد حقبة إعادة الإعمار مباشرة ... لقد أرادوا مكانًا للعبادة". "ميناء الفرشاة ليس سوى أغصان مجمعة كمأوى ، وهم يتعبدون في هذا الملجأ. هذا كل ما كان. ما زالوا لا يستطيعون العبادة في العراء. وأضافت أن بعض الناس يسمونها "ميناء الصمت".

بالأسود والأبيض ، تقف امرأة سوداء تشير إلى شاهد قبر أمامها ، في مقبرة حولها العشب والأشجار.
ديان سميث دريك ، التي تعتبر مؤرخة غير رسمية لمجموعة براون جروف للحفظ ، تقف في مقبرة كنيسة براون جروف المعمدانية ، وهي واحدة من عدة مقابر مجتمعية يمكن أن يؤدي إنشاء مركز توزيع Wegmans الضخم إلى إزعاجها. (شون يوس / المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية)

في نفس العام ، في عام 1870 ، يعود الفضل إلى كارولين موريس ، وهي امرأة سوداء محررة ولدت مستعبدة في مقاطعة هانوفر في عام 1846 ، في تأسيس المجتمع. يُشار الآن إلى موريس باحترام على أنها "أم براون جروف" ، ويدعي العديد من سكان اليوم أنهم نسب مباشرة إليها.

وفقًا لسميث دريك ، تم تدمير العديد من هياكل الكنائس الخشبية المبكرة في الحرائق في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وأوائل القرن العشرين. وأوضحت: "قال الكثيرون ، في ذلك اليوم ، إنهم لم يتمكنوا من إثبات أنه كان KKK ، لكن هذا كان الشيء الطبيعي لتلك الكنائس في تلك الحقبة". وأضاف سميث دريك: "تم بناء كنيستنا الحديثة في عام 1945 ، وسيشارك المجتمع ، الرجال ، ويأتي بعد أن عملوا طوال الأسبوع ويساعدوا في بناء هذه الكنيسة".

في وقت لاحق من يوم الأحد نفسه ، بعد تناول وجبة طعام طال انتظارها بعد خدمة الكنيسة في منزل والدتها ووالدها ، سارت رينادا هاريس عبر موقع دفن عائلتها خلف منزلهم. تُعرف بعض القبور ، المعروفة باسم مقبرة عائلة لويس وموريس ، على بعد أقدام قليلة من خط الملكية لمنشأة توزيع Wegmans المخطط لها. يُعتقد على نطاق واسع أن كارولين موريس دفنت هناك في قبر غير مميز.

بعد مائة وخمسين عامًا ، تعرضت الأسس الثرية لهذا المجتمع وتاريخه الفريد للخطر بسبب ما يقوله الكثيرون عن جهود الدولة والمقاطعة غير المسؤولة لتصنيع المنطقة. يجب على الشركات والحكومات - المحلية والولائية والوطنية - القيام بعمل أفضل في تكريم إرث الماضي ، والاستماع إلى المجتمعات التي تهدف إلى خدمتها ، وتلبية مطالبهم.

قالت المندوبة إليزابيث جوزمان ، التي تمثل منطقة مجلس المندوبين الحادي والثلاثين في فرجينيا ، والتي تضم براون جروف: "لسوء الحظ ، نرى دائمًا انفصالًا بين ما يريده المسؤولون المنتخبون المحليون مقارنة بما تريده مجتمعاتهم". وتابعت قائلة: "أعتقد أن الكومنولث لدينا يحتاج إلى البدء في دعم مجتمعاتنا السوداء تاريخيًا ، ويجب أن نعطي الأولوية لإدماجهم .... نحن بحاجة إلى المزيد من الأشخاص لمشاركة قصصهم مثل مجتمع براون جروف". "لقد تعرض مجتمع براون جروف مرارًا وتكرارًا للعنصرية والتعدي على البيئة. أن تكون شاملاً يعني احترام كلا الجانبين ، وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لمجتمع السود في براون جروف؟ ... هذا ليس صحيحًا ".

تتمثل إحدى الطرق الحاسمة للتعامل مع المظالم التاريخية والحفاظ على الذاكرة في مجتمع مثل براون جروف في إنشاء مساحات شاملة لأفراد المجتمع للاجتماع ومناقشة مظالمهم ، فضلاً عن مطالبهم بالإنصاف.

على هذا المنوال ، نظم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية ، بالشراكة مع شبكة الإنصاف الأمريكية الأفريقية ، معتكفًا لتمكين المجتمع في براون جروف في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2021. وقد جمعت ورشة العمل التي استغرقت يومين السكان والنشطاء والقادة المدنيين لمناقشة ما يريدون للمجتمع ، بما في ذلك التدابير التعويضية ، ووضع أهداف واضحة وخطة قابلة للتنفيذ لتحقيقها. مثل هذه المناقشات ، التي يمكن لجميع أفراد المجتمع المشاركة فيها وإبداء الرأي ، تمثل نوع المشاركة العامة والجهود المبذولة لحشد الدعم العام الواسع الذي يجب أن يكون جزءًا لا يتجزأ من جميع خطط التنمية الرئيسية التي تؤثر على الترابط لكن المجتمعات المهمشة مثل براون جروف.

المجتمع يطالب بالعدالة

أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، طالبت مجموعة Brown Grove Preservation Group منذ فترة طويلة Wegmans بنقل مركز التوزيع إلى مكان آخر. "نريد أن يتم الاعتراف بمجتمعنا وأن تعامله مقاطعة هانوفر بالاحترام الذي يستحقه موقع الحفاظ التاريخي. نريد أن تستثمر مقاطعة هانوفر في مجتمعنا من خلال الحدائق والممرات والمركز المجتمعي. وأوضح هاريس أن هذا ليس غير معقول ، لأنه يعكس الجانب الآخر من المدينة الذي يغلب عليه اللون الأبيض.

بالأسود والأبيض ، تقف امرأة سوداء ويديها في جيوب سترتها ، وتتطلع إلى يسار الإطار ، في مقبرة حولها العشب والأشجار.
رينادا هاريس ، رئيسة مجموعة براون جروف للحفظ ، تقف في مقبرة عائلة لويس وموريس ، الواقعة خلف منزل عائلة هاريس. (شون يوس / المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية)

بالنظر إلى أن البناء قد بدأ بالفعل ، وهو مؤشر واضح على أنه من غير المرجح أن يتراجع Wegmans ، فإن مجموعة الحفظ جاهزة لمطالب أخرى. كما ذكرنا ، تطلب المجموعة من الشركة دعم بناء مركز مجتمعي يخدم المنطقة بأكملها ، لأن المنشأة ودخول وخروج موظفيها سيعطل العديد من الأنشطة التي تجري حاليًا في الكنيسة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإنها تطالب بمعالجات محددة أخرى لخلافة المظالم البيئية التاريخية.

وفقًا لهاريس ، "نريد هواءًا نظيفًا ومياه نظيفة للتخفيف من كمية السموم المتدفقة إلى مجتمعنا نتيجة كل الصناعة. هذه طلبات معقولة من المقاطعة ، من DEQ [قسم جودة البيئة] ، ومن فيلق المهندسين بالجيش. نريد وقف المزيد من التعديات على هانوفر كونتري ".

A Historic Black Community in the United States Resists Erasure

As plans to build a massive Wegmans distribution center forge ahead, residents of the historic Black community of Brown Grove, Virginia, demand acknowledgment and redress.

04/18/2022

By Sean Yoes

On a chilly Saturday night in February, several members of the Brown Grove Preservation Group, gathered at Around the Table, a Black-owned soul food restaurant in nearby Ashland, Virginia. For most of the night, roars of laughter emanated from the large table, as the members, all of whom are related by blood or marriage, dined on fried catfish, pork chops, collard greens, and other southern dishes and playfully teased one another. But the jubilant mood quickly turned somber when the subject of the planned construction of a 1.1 million-square-foot Wegmans distribution center in the heart of their town came up.

Founded in 1870 by formerly enslaved Americans, Brown Grove remains a small, tight-knit majority Black community. Unfortunately, the impending commercial development threatens to disrupt this peaceful place and its rich history.

Residents, activists, and others have been fearful for the future of their community ever since former Virginia Governor Ralph Northam announced in an official statement released by Hanover County in 2019 that Wegmans Food Market, Inc. intended to invest $175 million over three years to establish a full-service, regional distribution operation in the area.

Despite widespread community resistance, controversies over crucial permit acquisitions, the possible desecration of sacred burial sites, and numerous environmental concerns (the future facility will endanger several acres of federally protected wetlands), construction has commenced. Wegmans plans to open the distribution center sometime in 2023. All of this comes with the apparent blessing of Hanover County and the Commonwealth of Virginia. “The county doesn’t want to acknowledge Brown Grove,” said preservation group member and the community’s unofficial historian Diane Smith Drake, over a plate of fried catfish. “Never has,” added Renada Harris, the group’s leader.

A History of State-Sanctioned Industrial Encroachment

For nearly 70 years, Brown Grove, recognized by few outside the community, seems to have always been an option on the table when the state of Virginia and Hanover County sought to expand industry. For example, in the late 1950s, construction of I-95 began, which ultimately cut Brown Grove in half. (The highway was later enlarged in Brown Grove between 2015 and 2017.) In 1969, Hanover County Municipal Airport was built in the town. Years later, a proposed expansion of this airport forced some residents to relocate, even though according to community leaders that expansion never actually took place. There two concrete plants were also built in or directly adjacent to Brown Grove. And in 1987, work began on a commercial landfill—or “stump dump,” as it is often called—and recycling center in the historic community.

“When you live in a community where you are near [I-]95, you have the fumes; and, more importantly, we are by a truck stop, so you have all the emissions from the tractor trailers, and you have the fumes from the airplanes flying overhead every day,” said Harris. “The pollution is absorbed in those trees…. When you don’t have those trees to absorb the pollution, then that affects our air quality, and the roots from those trees protect the well water that some of the community has,”  she added.

In black and white, a man talks to three people seated in a church pew.
Deacon Spurlock speaks with Brown Grove Baptist Church congregants before the 10 a.m. service. (Sean Yoes/ICTJ)

“Over the years, we have seen things slowly fall off and decline, the community getting smaller and smaller, mainly because of industry and the things that have been going on and the potential things coming up,” explained Kenneth Spurlock, chairman of the deacon board at Brown Grove Baptist Church. Deacon Spurlock notes the generational effects of this ceaseless encroachment. “It’s hard in today’s world for children who grew up here to come back when you have so much industry building up. It’s hard to say, ‘Well, I’m going to build a home in Brown Grove right beside a concrete plant.’ Or ‘I’m gonna buy my momma’s home place and live up here by the stump dump.’ And now you got Wegmans coming across the street.”

Born and raised in King William County, Virginia, Deacon Spurlock moved to Brown Grove in 1988, when he married his wife, Melinda, whose family has lived in the historic Black community for several generations. Spurlock’s heart has been in Brown Grove ever since. “We’re always dumped on. We have loving people, caring people, taxpaying people, and we’re involved in the communities. The church does tons of outreach,” he explained. “But when it comes to this community, I guess they consider it more of a valuable piece of real estate for industry.”

A Pattern of Disruption to Black Communities

Unfortunately, the Wegmans facility is not the first industrial incursion of its kind. This pattern of disrupting Black communities via federal, state, or locally mandated projects has been repeated for decades, in Virginia and around the country.

For example, Union Hill, Virginia, another majority Black community founded by formerly enslaved people after the Civil War, was similarly threatened by the construction of a 600-mile Atlantic Coast pipeline. Like Brown Grove, residents feared the uprooting of historic gravesites, as well as increased air and water pollution connected to a compressor station necessary for the pipeline’s completion. Last year, they came together and were able to block the pipeline’s construction, demonstrating the power of community engagement and collective action.

At the national level, federally funded interstate projects have disrupted numerous Black and other disenfranchised communities. After President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed the Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1956, Brown Grove was one of the first Black communities adversely affected by the construction of Interstate 95 (I-95), which began in the 1950s. The proximity to I-95 is one of the main reasons cited by Wegmans for choosing Brown Grove as the location for its distribution facility. Other, similar projects have divided Black communities in Detroit, Los Angeles, Miami, Nashville, and New Orleans, among many others.

“What is happening in Brown Grove is not an anomaly. This is a community that has been repeatedly denied its fundamental rights. And unfortunately, this denial of rights is part of the larger pattern of systemic racism in the U.S. that needs to be acknowledged, redressed, and prevented. The Wegmans incursion must be seen as both an environmental justice issue and a transitional justice one,” explained Virginie Ladisch, a senior expert at the International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ), an organization that works in societies around the world grappling with legacies of massive human rights violations.

Seeking Redress for the Latest Injustice in Brown Grove

Today, the fear is that the arrival of the Wegmans facility will make life in this once idyllic community intolerable. Known as the Air Park Associates site, the large parcel of undeveloped land that will house the massive center is located directly across the street from the venerable Brown Grove Baptist Church on Ashcake Road. The future employee entrance, which will accommodate approximately 700 Wegmans workers, and will stand just a few yards from the entrance of the church. The facility will encroach directly on several properties owned by Brown Grove residents, and there is great concern about potentially drastically increased traffic and noise, as well as decreased air and water quality.

The massive distribution facility will also literally cast a shadow on the heart of the community: Brown Grove Baptist Church. Residents are adamant that the facility’s presence will require them to build another centrally located hub for various activities serving Brown Grove as well as nearby communities. “We would like a community center. When you take away the ability of our kids to freely play…because of the accidents the increased traffic will cause, we want a place where they can come and be safe, off the road where they can exercise without them having to breathe in any pollution,” said Harris. “We don’t have to have activities at the church; we could have them at a community center, not only for the church but all of Ashland and Hanover as well.”

Wegmans certainly had other options besides Brown Grove. In fact, it considered several sites, including multiple locations in North Carolina, but Virginia gave Wegmans at least $4 million and other incentives to encourage the company to come to the state. Even within Virginia, Wegmans had at least four other options. It allegedly chose Brown Grove over an identically sized site in northern Hanover County. That site was temporarily under contract with home improvement retailer Lowe’s at one point, but the deal fell through and the lot remains unoccupied.

Hanover County’s official release announcing the development reads: “The Virginia Economic Development Partnership worked with Hanover County and the Greater Richmond Partnership to help Wegmans find a property that could meet its needs in Virginia.” However, the irony for many in Brown Grove is that state of Virginia and Hanover County clearly gave little or no consideration to the needs of Brown Grove residents. As Harris put it, “Wegmans will benefit from generational wealth on behalf of the industrial injustice that Hanover has put on Brown Grove.”

The community center that residents are asking for is one way to mitigate the harm that the distribution center will cause. Residents are also calling for action to preserve Brown Grove’s rich and storied history, one that is very much emblematic of the United States’ long record of systemic racism.

Brown Grove’s Historical Memory Must Be Preserved

The current residents of Brown Grove carry with them the heavy truths of their ancestors. After a 10 a.m. church service at Brown Grove Baptist Church one recent Sunday, Diane Smith Drake, the unofficial historian, headed to a small, nondescript graveyard near a wooded area on the church’s property. Several of Smith Drake’s ancestors are buried there, all of whom helped build the church. “Six people started a ‘brush harbor’ in 1870, which was directly after the Reconstruction era…They wanted a place to worship,” explained Smith Drake. “A brush harbor is nothing but branches put together as a shelter, and they worship in this shelter. That’s all it was. They still couldn’t worship out in the open. Some people call it a ‘hush harbor,’” she added.

In black and white, a Black woman stands gesturing at a headstone in front of her, in a cemetery with grass and trees around her.
Diane Smith Drake, considered the Brown Grove Preservation Group’s unofficial historian, stands in the Brown Grove Baptist Church graveyard, one of several community cemeteries that the construction of the massive Wegmans distribution center could potentially disturb. (Sean Yoes/ICTJ)

That same year, in 1870, Caroline Morris, a freed Black woman who was born enslaved in Hanover County in 1846, is credited with founding the community. Morris is now referred to with deference as “the mother of Brown Grove,” and many of today’s residents claim direct lineage to her.

According to Smith Drake, several early wooden church structures were destroyed in fires throughout the late 19th and early 20th centuries. “Many said, back in that day, they couldn’t prove that it was the KKK, but that was the normal thing for those churches back in that era,” she explained. “Our modern-day church was built in 1945, and the community, the men, would take part and come after they worked all week and help build this church,” Smith Drake added.

Later that same Sunday, after a much-anticipated meal following church service at her mother and father’s house, Renada Harris walked through her family’s burial site behind their home. Known as the Lewis and Morris family graveyard, some of the graves are mere feet from the property line of the planned Wegmans distribution facility. It is widely believed that Caroline Morris is buried there in an unmarked grave.

One-hundred and fifty years later, this community’s rich foundations and unique history are imperiled by what many say is the state and county’s irresponsible efforts to industrialize the area. Corporations and governments—local, state, and national—must do a better job of honoring the legacies of the past, listening to the communities they aim to serve, and meeting their demands.

“Unfortunately, we always see a disconnect between what local elected officials want compared to what their communities want,” said Delegate Elizabeth Guzman, who represents Virginia’s 31st House of Delegates district, which includes Brown Grove. “I think that our commonwealth needs to start supporting our historically Black communities, and we must prioritize their inclusion….We need more people to share their stories like the Brown Grove community has,” she continued. “The Brown Grove community has time and again been subjected to environmental racism and encroachment. Being inclusive means respecting both sides, and what does that mean for the Black community in Brown Grove?… It’s not right.”

One critical way to deal with historical injustices and preserve memory in a community such as Brown Grove is to create inclusive spaces for community members to convene and discuss their grievances, as well as their demands for redress. 

Along these lines, ICTJ, in partnership with the African American Redress Network, organized a community empowerment retreat in Brown Grove in November 2021. The two-day workshop brought together residents, activists, and civic leaders to discuss what they wanted for the community, including reparative measures, and to develop clear goals and an actionable plan to obtain them. Discussions such as these, in which all members of the community can participate and have a voice, represent the type of public engagement and effort to galvanize broad public buy-in that should be part and parcel to all major development plans that affect tight-knit but marginalized communities like Brown Grove.

A Community Voices Its Demands for Justice

First and foremost, the Brown Grove Preservation Group has long demanded that Wegmans relocate the distribution center elsewhere. “We want our community to be recognized and for Hanover County to treat it with the respect that an historic preservation site deserves. We want Hanover County to invest in our community with parks, walkways, and the community center. This isn’t unreasonable, since it is reflective of the other side of town that is predominantly white,” Harris explained.

In black and white, a Black woman stands with her hands in her jacket pockets, looking to the left of the frame, in a cemetery with grass and trees around her.
Renada Harris, head of the Brown Grove Preservation Group, stands in the Lewis and Morris family graveyard, located behind the Harris family home. (Sean Yoes/ICTJ)

Given that construction has already commenced, a clear indication that Wegmans is unlikely to back down, the preservation group is ready with other demands. As mentioned, the group is asking the company to support the construction of a community center that would serve the entire area, since the facility and the comings and goings of its employees will disrupt many of the activities that currently take place at the church. In addition, it is demanding other specific remedies for the succession of historic environmental injustices.

According to Harris, “We want clean air and clean water to mitigate the amount of toxins flowing into our community as a result of all the industry. These are reasonable asks from the county, from the DEQ [Department of Environmental Quality], and from the Army Corps of Engineers. We want a moratorium on further encroachment to be implemented for Hanover Country.”