تونس

فتحت ثورة كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2011 في تونس – والتي أدّت إلى سقوط نظام الرئيس بن علي – الباب أمام المبادرات والحوارات حول كيفية معالجة القمع السياسي المتفشّي وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المنتشرة. ويزوّد المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية صانعي السياسات التونسيين ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني بالنصح وبالموارد حول العدالة الإنتقالية.

أحد سكان وسط تونس أثناء مظاهرة أمام قصر الحكومة يناير 2011 (فتحي بلعيد / جيتي صور)

الخلفية: الكفاح من أجل قيم الثورة

في السابع عشر من ديسمبر من عام 2010 أضرمَ الشاب بائع الفاكهة محمد البوعزيزي النّار في نفسه في سيدي بوزيد بتونس، خارج مكتب الحاكم المحلّي احتجاجاً على فساد الحكومة ومضايقات الشرطة. هذا العمل من التضحية بالنفس أجّج سلسلة هائلة من الأحداث، مع مجموعات نظّمت مظاهرات عامة كبيرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد تُطالب ب "عمل، حرية، كرامة وطنية." دفعت الاحتجاجات الرئيس زين العابدين بن علي للتنحي عن منصبه بعد شهر واحد، وألهمت التظاهرات ضد الحكام الاستبداديين في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. ومنذُ ذلك الحين، بدأ بيتُ الربيع العربي في عملية للتعامل مع ماضيه والحفاظ على مكتسبات ثورتِه.

دفعَ تصرفُ البوعزيزي الفردي هذه الاحتجاجات على نطاق واسع والإطاحة في نهاية المطافِ بالحكومة لأنه داعبَ المظالم الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية الرئيسية التي تراكمت على مدَى عقود. نَمت الاحتجاجات التي بدأت بدعوات للحكومة لمعالجة وفاة البوعزيزي إلى مَطالب عامة بالإصلاحات الاقتصادية والسياسية. إِسْتَشْرَت المظاهرات وتضاعفت الأعداد مع انضمام قوى اجتماعية رئيسية، بما في ذلك الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل ونقابة المحامين التونسيين.

وُلدت الثورة في مناطق البلد التي كانت لفترة طويلة مُهمّشة ومحرُومة اقتصادياً في ظل حُكم بن علي، وكان الشباب في تلك المناطق الأكثر تضرراً من عدم وجود فرص عمل ومستويات عالية من البطالة على الصعيد الوطني. في السنوات التي سبقت الثورة، نمت البطالة بشكل مطرد وخاصة في المناطق الجنوبية والريف (بلغ متوسط معدلات البطالة ل 22٪ في العديد من المناطق بين عامي 2004 و2010)، وبين الشباب خريجي الجامعات وصلت لنسبة 20٪ في 2010.

وفي الوقتِ نفسه، زاد الفساد والاستهلاك بين النخبة في البلاد -ولا سيما زين العابدين بن علي وعائلته-الإحباط العام. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أصبحت الحكومة استبدادية وغير متسامحة مع المعارضة على نحوٍ متزايد. المراقبة والمضايقة والسجن وتعذيب النشطاء السياسيين، وكذلك المشتبه بهم جنائياً، كانت ممارسات شائعة تحت نظام بن علي.

بعد الثورة.

في غضون سنة من احتجاج البوعزيزي، اتخذ التونسيون خطواتٍ ثابتة نحو إقامة حكمٍ ديمقراطي. فقد انتخبوا مجلساً وطنياً تأسيسياً- والذي إضافة إلى إقراره دستوراً جديداً- وضع قوانيناً لتوجيه العملية الانتقالية، بما في ذلك قانون العدالة الانتقالية. بعد نجاته من الأزمات السياسية المتلاحقة، أقرّ البرلمان التونسي قانون العدالة الانتقالية في ديسمبر كانون الأول من عام 2013.

يحدد القانون إطاراً شاملاً لمعالجة الانتهاكات التي اُرتكبت خلال فترة الديكتاتورية والسنوات التالية مباشرة (يوليو 1955 إلى ديسمبر 2013) من خلال الكشفِ عن الحقيقة حول الانتهاكات السابقة وتقديم جبر الضرر للضحايا والسعي للمساءلة الجنائية عن الجرائم الخطيرة.

كما استحدَث القانون أيضاً هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة كجهةً رسمية لتقصي الحقائق وتقديم تقرير عن الانتهاكات الماضية، وإنشاء دوائر قضائية متخصصة لمتابعة المساءلة الجنائية عن انتهاكات سابقة محددة، وهي عنصر أساسي من عملية الانتقال. ومن بين الانتهاكات تحت ولاية الدوائر المتخصصة : القتل المتعمد؛ الاغتصاب وأي شكل من أشكال العنف الجنسي؛ التعذيب؛ الإخفاء القسري؛ الإعدام دون محاكمة العادلة. والحالات التي تُحيلها الهيئة وتتعلق بتزوير الانتخابات والفساد المالي وسوء استخدام الأموال العامة والهجرة القسرية لأسباب سياسية. لم يتم تشغيل الدوائر المتخصصة حتى الآن.

من خلال قانون العدالة الانتقالية الجديد، أكّدت تونس التزامها بالانتقال على أساسٍ المساءلة عن الماضي،واحترام حقوق الضحايا والالتزام بالمعايير الدولية.

هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة

هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة هي هيئة تقصي الحقائق الرسمية في تونس. وهي مكلفة بالنظر والإبلاغ عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الماضي، وتقديم توصيات لجبر الضرر والإصلاحات المؤسسية، وإصدار تعويضات عاجلة.

اختتمت هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة جمع البيانات في يونيو 2016، وجَمعت في نهاية المطاف 65000 شِكاية. قُدمت هذه الشكاوى من قِبل الأفراد وكذلك بشكلً جماعي، وهو ما يَعني أن المجموعات المدنية قد قدّمت مُدخلات بشأن الأثر الذي خلفته انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في المجتمع.

هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة حالياً تستضيف سلسلة من جلسات الاستماع العامة لتُقدم للضحايا منبراً لتبادل قصصهم، وتعملُ مع الصحفيين التونسيين لتغطية هذه الوقائع التاريخية.

كجزء من ولايتها، ينبغي لهيئة الحقيقة والكرامة أيضاً اقتراح تدابير جبر ضرر مناسبة والمساهمة في مفهوم أكثر شمولاً من تعويضات لكل من الضحايا الأفراد والمجموعات.

دور المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية:

دَعم المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية العملية الانتقالية في تونس منذ الأيام الأولى للربيع العربي، ونظم المؤتمر الأول في البلد بشأن العدالة الانتقالية في نيسان 2011، وافتتح مكتباً هناك في عام 2012. ولكن مع تعثر بلدان الربيع العربي الأخرى تواجه تونس أيضاً تحديات متزايدة من القضايا الأمنية إلى تمركز السلطة بين النخبة. لذلك، عملُ المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية لدعم وتعزيز المساءلة والإصلاحات في البلد يتسم بأهمية حاسمة بالنسبة لتأثير طويل الأجل لمكاسب الثورة.

  • هيئة الحقيقة والكرامة- أَمَدَّ المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية سَنداً كبيراً للهيئة لتطوير أنظمة فعّالة ومنهجيات وهياكل لتنفيذ ولايتها. بدأت الهيئة في قبولِ الطلبات من الضحايا في ديسمبر/كانون الأول من عام 2014، و بفضل مشاركة المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية فقد كانت مشاركة الضحايا أقوى مما كان متوقعاً : فبحلول منتصف عام 2016 كان قد وَرَد حوالي 30000 شكاية، بينما قُدمت 20000 شكاية في عام 2015. أرقام المشاركة تشدّد على أهمية العملية لقطاعات رئيسية من السكان.

  • مشاركة النساء- كما هو الحال في معظم الأنظمة الديكتاتورية: أنواع وطرق الانتهاكات التي تعرضت لها النساء في تونس تفاوتت مقارنة بالرجال، ووجهات نظرهم ضرورية لكفالة أن الهيئة لديها صورة كاملة عن العقود الماضية. عَمِلَ المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مع المنظمات النسائية للتأكّد من أن يُسمع أصواتهن، مساعداً على بناء فهمهن لغرض ووظائف الهيئة، كما اشتغل على المساعدة في رصد عمل الهيئة، وتشجيع التعاون داخل وبين مجموعات مختلفة. في عام 2014، أنشأ المركز شبكة "العدالة الانتقالية للنساء أيضاً" وهو تحالف من 11 مجموعة للعمل معاً لتشجيع مزيدٍ من النساء على تقديم قصصهن إلى الهيئة. قدمت الشبكة ملفاً جماعياً مع بيانات من أكثر من 140 ضحية، وهي المرة الأولى التي تُقْدم فيها مجموعة نسائية على ذلك. حمل الملف تفصيلاً لآثار التمييز ضد النساء المحجبات في ظل حكومة بن علي.

  • مكافحة الفساد- يُساند المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية الجهود التي تبذلها تونس للتعامل مع إرثها من الفساد ومكافحة التدابير التي تهدفُ الى تقديم العفو عن الفساد. وركّز الكثير من عمل المركز على معارضة مشروع قانون المصالحة الاقتصادية المُقترح في البلاد، الذي من شأنه أن يُوفر طريقاً للمسؤولين في عهد علي بن الفاسدين ورجال الأعمال لإضفاء الشرعية على أصولهم المسروقة وتأمين شكل من أشكال العفو. كما شدّد المركز على تحسين الفهم العام للعلاقة بين الفساد وإجراءات العدالة الانتقالية.

  • جبر الضرر- في عام 2013، بدأ المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية مناقشاتٍ حول جبر الضرر الجماعي كرد فعل على التهميش في تونس. تم تهميشُ وقمعُ بعض المناطق في تونس بشكل متعمّد، وكانت هذه المناطق أوّل من أشعلَ جذوة الثورة والمطالبة بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية. يسعى المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية لوضع تعريفٍ عملي من التهميش في تونس من شأنه أن يوفر الأساس لبرنامج جبر ضرر شامل. مثلُ هذا البرنامج سيعمل على التأكد من حصول جميع ضحايا النظام الديكتاتوري- بما في ذلك أولئك الذين كانوا مهمشين نتيجة لعيشهم في منطقة جغرافية نائية عن قصد- على تعويضات.

Tunisia

Tunisia’s January 2011 revolution opened the door to address a past of widespread political repression and human rights violations. As the country works to restore victims’ dignity and confront decades of corruption and violence, ICTJ provides Tunisian policymakers and civil society groups with advice and resources.

A resident of central Tunisia during a demonstration in front of the Government Palace, Jan 2011 (FETHI BELAID/Getty Images)

Background: Fighting for the Revolution’s Values

On December 17, 2010 Mohamed Bouazizi, a young fruit cart vendor in Sidi Bouzid, Tunisia, set himself on fire outside of the local governor’s office in protest against government corruption and police harassment. This act of self-immolation set off a massive chain of events, with groups staging large public demonstrations throughout the country calling for “jobs, freedom, and national dignity.” The protests drove President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali out of office one month later and inspired protests against authoritarian rule throughout the region. Since then, the home of the Arab Spring has embarked in a process to grapple with its past and maintain the gains of its revolution.

Bouazizi’s individual act prompted such widespread protest and the eventual overthrow of the government because it tapped into major socioeconomic and political grievances that had been fomenting for decades. Protests that started with calls for the government to address Bouazizi’s death grew to general demands for economic and political reforms. Demonstrations increased in organization and numbers as major social forces, including the Tunisian General Labor Union and the Tunisian Bar Association, got involved.

The revolution was born in areas of the country which had long been marginalized and economically disadvantaged under Ben Ali’s rule, and youth in those areas were particularly hard-hit by the lack of opportunities and high levels of unemployment nationwide. In the years before the revolution, unemployment had grown steadily, especially in southern, rural areas (with average unemployment rates of 22% in many areas between 2004 and 2010), and among college-educated young people, for whom it reached 20% in 2010.

Meanwhile, corruption and conspicuous consumption among the country’s elite, particularly Ben Ali and his family, increased public frustration. In addition, the government became increasingly authoritarian and intolerant of dissent. Surveillance, harassment, imprisonment and torture of political activists, as well as torture of criminal suspects, was reportedly common under Ben Ali’s administration.

After the Revolution

Within a year of Bouazizi’s protest, Tunisians had taken firm steps toward instituting democratic rule. They elected a new National Constituent Assembly (NCA) that, in addition to mandating a new constitution, drafted laws to guide the transition, including a transitional justice law. After surviving successive political crises, Tunisia’s parliament passed the Transitional Justice Law in December 2013.

The law set out a comprehensive framework to address violations committed during the dictatorship period and the years immediately following (July 1955 to December 2013) by revealing the truth about past abuses, providing reparations to victims, and pursuing criminal accountability for serious crimes.

The law also established the Truth and Dignity Commission (TDC), as the official truth-seeking body to investigate and report on past abuses, and the creation of specialized chambers to pursue criminal accountability for specific past violations, a key component of the transition. Among the violations under the specialized chambers’ jurisdictions are: deliberate killing; rape and any form of sexual violence; torture; enforced disappearance; execution without fair trial; and cases referred to it by the TDC related to election fraud, financial corruption, misuse of public funds, and forced migration for political reasons. As of now, the specialized chambers are not yet operational.

Through the new Transitional Justice law, Tunisia confirmed its commitment to a transition based on accountability for the past, respect for victims’ rights and adherence to international standards.

Truth and Dignity Commission

The Truth and Dignity Commission is Tunisia’s official truth-seeking body. It is charged with investigating and reporting on past human rights violations, making recommendations for reparations and institutional reforms, and issuing urgent reparations.

The TDC concluded gathering statements in June 2016, and ultimately collected 65,000 complaints. These complaints were submitted by individuals as well as collectively, which means that groups provided input on the impact human rights violations had on a community.

The TDC is currently is hosting a series of public hearings to provide victims a platform to share their stories, and is working with Tunisian journalists to cover the historic proceedings.

As part of its mandate, the TDC should also propose adequate reparations measures and contribute to a more comprehensive notion of reparations for both individual victims and collective subjects

ICTJ's Role:

ICTJ has supported the transitional process in Tunisia since the early days of the Arab Spring, organizing the country’s first conference on transitional justice in April 2011 and opening an office there in 2012. But as other Arab Spring countries falter, Tunisia also faces mounting challenges, from security issues to the concentration of power among the elite. Therefore, ICTJ’s work to support and advance accountability and reform in the country is of crucial importance for the long-term impact of the revolution gains.

  • The Truth and Dignity Commission- ICTJ has provided considerable assistance to the TDC to develop effective systems, methodologies and structures for the implementation of its mandate. The TDC began accepting submissions from victims in December 2014, and thanks to ICTJ’s involvement, participation by victims has been stronger than expected: by mid-2016, approximately 30,000 submissions had been received, of which 20,000 were submitted in 2015. The participation numbers underscored the importance of the process for key sectors of the population.

  • Women’s Participation- As in most dictatorial regimes, the way that women experienced violations and the types of violations they experienced in Tunisia varied compared to men, and their perspectives are crucial to ensure that the TDC has a complete picture of the past decades. ICTJ worked with women’s organizations to make sure their voices are heard, helping to build their understanding of the purpose and functions of the TDC, to aid in the monitoring of TDC’s work, and to encourage collaboration within and between the various group. In 2014, ICTJ established the “Transitional Justice is Also for Women” Network, a coalition of 11 groups working together to encourage more women to submit their stories to the TDC. The Network submitted a collective file with statements from over 140 victims, the first time a women’s advocacy group had done so. The file detailed the effects of discrimination against veiled women under Ben Ali’s government.

  • Anti-Corruption- ICTJ has fostered Tunisia’s efforts to grapple with its legacy of corruption and fought measures meant to provide amnesty for corruption. Much of its work has centered on opposition to the country’s proposed economic reconciliation bill, which would offer a path for corrupt Ben Ali-era officials and business people to legalize their stolen assets and secure a form of amnesty. ICTJ has focused on improving public understanding of the relationship between corruption and the transitional justice process.

  • Reparations- In 2013, ICTJ initiated discussions on collective reparations as a response to marginalization in Tunisia. Some regions in Tunisia were intentionally marginalized and oppressed, and these regions were the first to spark the flame of the revolution and to demand economic and social rights. ICTJ works to establish an operational definition of marginalization in Tunisia that would provide a foundation for a comprehensive reparations program. Such a program would ensure that all victims of the dictatorship, including those who were marginalized as a result of their living in an intentionally underdeveloped geographical area, have access to reparations.