جبر الضرر

جبر الضرر

يسعى جبر الضرر إلى تحقيق الإعتراف بالأذى الذي تعرّض له ضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المنتظمة ومعالجتها. في هذا السياق، يزوّد برنامج العدالة التعويضية للمركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية منظّمات الضحايا والمجتمع المدني وصانعي السياسات عبر العالم بالمعرفة والخبرة المقارنة حول جبر الضرر.

سانتياغو٬ تشيلي – نصب تذكاري للمعتقلين٬ والمختفين٬ والذين تم إعدامهم (لويس بكفورد)

على الدولِ واجب قانوني للإقرار والتصدي لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان واسعة النطاق أو المنهجية حيثُما تسبّبت الدوّل في تلك الانتهاكات أو لم تُحاول بجدية لمنعها.

وتَسعى مُبادرات جبر الضرر لمعالجة الأضرار الناجمة عن هذه الانتهاكات. يُمكن لجبرِ الضرر أن يأخذ شكل تعويضٍ عن الخسائر التي تكبَدوها، مما يُساعد على التغلب على بعضِ النتائج المترتبة على سوء المعاملة. كما يُمكن أن يكون موجهاً للمستقبل- مقدماً تأهيلاً للضحايا وحياة أفضل لهم- ومساعداً على تغيير الأسباب الكامنة وراء الانتهاكات.

يُؤكد جبر الضرر علناً بأن الضحايا هم أصحاب حق في الانتصاف.

أنواع جبر الضرر

يُمكن أن تصمم مبادرات جبر الضرر بطرق عديدة. كما يُمكن أن تشمل التعويض المالي للأفراد أو الجماعات؛ ضمانات عدم التكرار؛ الخدمات الاجتماعية مثل الرعاية الصحية أو التعليم؛ واتخاذ تدابير رمزية مثل الاعتذارات الرسمية أو الاحتفالات العامة.

بعض الأمثلة:

  • من عام 1996 إلى عام 2008، دفعت الحكومة التشيلية أكثر من 1.6$ مليار للمعاشات التقاعدية لبعض ضحايا نظام بينوشيه، وأقامت برنامج رعاية صحية متخصص للناجين من الانتهاكات. وقد رافق هذا اعتذار رسمي من رئيس الجمهورية.

  • تقوم الحكومة المغربية حالياً بتنفيذ كل من التعويضات الفردية والمجتمعية لأكثر من 50 سنة من سوء المعاملة على نطاقٍ واسع. وتشملُ هذه التعويضات تمويل المشاريع المقترحة من قبل المجموعات التي اُستبعدت في وقت سابق عن عمد من برامج التنمية لأسباب سياسية.

  • في عام 2010، اعتذر رئيس سيراليون رسمياً للنساء ضحايا النزاع المسلح الذي دام 10عاماً في بلاده. يُشكل هذا الاعتذار جزءاً من الجهود الجارية لتوزيع تعويضات متواضعة، وإعادة التأهيل وغيرها من الفوائد للضحايا.

  • الدوائر الاستثنائية في محاكم كمبوديا أمرت بتعويضات رمزية وجماعية في الإدانة الأولية للمحكمة في تهمة ارتكاب جرائم ضد الإنسانية. وأَمرت المحكمة بأن يتم سرد أسماء ضحايا السجن سيء السمعة في الموقع الإلكتروني للمحكمة، وكذلك اعتذاراً صادراً عن المحكوم عليهم.

عندما تُتبع دون اتخاذ تدابير عدالة أخرى، تتعرضُ مبادرات جبر الضرر في بعض الأحيان لانتقادات كأنما تحاول شراء صمت الضحايا.

يرى المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية أن مبادرات جبر الضرر التي تَنبعُ من التشاورِ الهادف مع الضحايا لديها أفضل الفرص لتكون عادلة وفعالة. رَبطُ جبر الضرر بالأشكال الأخرى من الاعتراف والعدالة وتقديم الضمانات بعدم التكرارعلى النحو المُوصى به من قبل مبادئ الأمم المتحدة الأساسية بشأن الحق في الانتصاف والجبر يمكنه أيضاً أن يسهم في فعاليته.

رؤية المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية

يحتاجُ جبر الضرر الاستجابة لحقوق الضحايا وتلبية احتياجاتهم المستمرة الناتجة عن الانتهاكات. يجبُ أن يستندَ جبر الضرر على عملية الاستماع إلى الضحايا، معترفاً بالمخالفات، ومقراً بعواقب الانتهاكات المرتكبة. لأجل أن تكون التدابير فاعلة وقادرة على معالجة أسوأ عواقب الانتهاكات، فإن مشاركة الضحايا ومجموعات الضحايا في تصميم وتنفيذ برامج جبر الضرر لهو أمر بالغ الأهمية.

يساعد برنامج العدالة الإصلاحية في المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية الضحايا في التعبير عن احتياجاتهم والتَعرّف على الأشكال الأكثرِ فعالية من التعويضات لهم، ويُقدم المشورة لصانعي السياسات على التحديات العملية والقانونية والمالية والإجرائية التي تَدخلُ في تصميم وتنفيذ برامج جبر الضرر. جنباً إلى جنب مع الضحايا، ننخرطُ مع مختلفِ أصحاب المصلحة، بما في ذلك واضعي السياسات الوطنية والدولية والجهات المانحة والجهات الفاعلة في التنمية وغيرها من منظمات حقوق الإنسان، للمساعدة على فهم أهمية جبر الضرر في معالجة النتائج المترتبة على الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان. كما نشدّد على أن برامج جبر الضرر يُمكن أن تنشأ من تلقاء نفسها؛ فهي لا تحتاج بالضرورة أن تَتْبَع إنشاء لجنة للحقيقة أو ملاحقات قضائية.

يعملُ المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية على تشجيع المجتمعات على النظر في طرقٍ مختلفة تجعل جبر الضرر والمساعدات الإنسانية والتنمية تتفاعلُ لتوفير قدرٍ من العدالة. المساعدات الإنسانية والاستجابة الفورية للتخفيف من عواقب الانتهاكات هي موضع ترحيب بلا شك، إلا أنها غير كافية. فهي لا تستجيب للضحايا كأصحاب حقوق، كما أنها لا تعترف بأن انتهاكاتٍ قد اُرتكبت. وبالمثل، مع أن سياسات التنمية يُمكن أن تخفف معاناة الضحايا وتعالج التهميش التاريخي، فإنها لن تكون مؤثرة ما لم يتم إضافة الاعتراف الكافي والتدابير الرمزية.

نحن نحفّز المجتمعات على استخدام الأساليب التي ترتكزُ إلى لغة وثقافة وتاريخ البلاد والضحايا السكان. الأهم من ذلك، لا يجدرُ لتدابير جبر الضرر أن تعتمد على التعويض فحسب، ولكن ينبغي أن يتضمن أشكال إعادة التأهيل وترضية وضمانات عدم التكرار والجمع بين تدابير رمزية ومادية وفردية وجماعية، ويتوقف كل هذا على الظروف وخيارات الضحايا.

الموارد المتاحة محدودة واحتياجات الضحايا مختلفة، وعليه ينبغي لبرامج جبر الضرر الفعّالة أن تبني أولويات أولئك الذين عانوا أكثر أو بحاجة أكثر إلحاحا للإغاثة.

"إلى اليوم، عندما أمرُ على الكلية، أشعر بالاختناق. لقد حُرمت من حقي. لماذا ا؟ فقط لأنني غطيتُ شعري؟ "- إيناس، ضحية للتمييز الديني في تونس

تأثير المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية

ساعد عملُنا في بلدان مختلفة في تصميم البرامج التي تعترفُ بحق الضحايا في جبر الضرر ذات صلة بالاحتياجات والسياقات. من خلال البحوث والتقارير المقارنة والعمل الميداني طورنا كماً من المعرفة ليس فقط حول جبر الضرر بشكل عام، ولكن حول أبعاد كثيرة، بما في ذلك جبر الضرر الجماعي، والاعتذار.

عملنا في دول مختلفة:

  • كمبوديا: ساعدنا الدوائر الاستثنائية في محاكم كمبوديا، التي أُنشئت لمحاكمة القادة السابقين للخمير الحمر، لصياغة وتنقيح اللوائح التي تحكمُ الآن التعويضات التي أمرت بها المحكمة في القضايا التي تنظر فيها.

  • كولومبيا: أيّدنا عملية السلام بين الحكومة الكولومبية والقوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية (فارك)، كجزء من فريق عمل، لتضمين التعويضات في "اتفاق الضحايا"، وهو جزء من اتفاق السلام النهائي. بالتعاون مع CODHES، إحدى منظمات المجتمع المدني التي تعمل في مجال حقوق الإنسان للمشردين داخلياً، بدأنا أيضاً "مرصد التعويض الجماعي."

  • ساحل العاج: نصحنا الهيئات الحكومية المسؤولة عن إدارة برامج التعويضات لضحايا العنف أعقاب انتخابات 2010-2011. على وجه التحديد، قدمنا النصح للبرنامج الوطني للتماسك الاجتماعي، ووزارة التضامن والتماسك الاجتماعي، واللجنة الوطنية للمصالحة وتعويض للضحايا عن كيفية تحديد التعويضات على أساس مشاورات بناءة مع الضحايا، وتسجيل الضحايا، والجمع بين قواعد البيانات الموجودة، والوصول إلى الضحايا المستبعدين سابقا (وخاصة من المناطق النائية). تشاورنا وحوارنا أيضاً الضحايا في المناطق المهمشة أمكننا من إيصال آرائهم لأجهزة الدولة. ساعدنا أيضا المنظمات، بما في ذلك الجماعات النسائية، لمراقبة عملية التسجيل وتوفير نظرة ثاقبة لعيوبها.

  • كينيا: ساعدنا هيئة الحقيقة والعدالة والمصالحة (TJRC)، التي أُنشئت في أعقاب أعمال العنف التي تلت الانتخابات في 2007-2008، لتصميم مصفوفة من تدابير التعويضات التي يُمكن تنفيذها من قبل الدولة. غطت هذه التدابير مجموعة واسعة من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الواقعة تحت ولاية (TJRC)، بما في ذلك انتهاكات الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، والانتهاكات التي تنطوي على الأرض، والمظالم التاريخية. ساعدنا الجهات الحكومية والمسؤولين المعنيين في تصميم برامج جبر ضرر لتحديد والتغلب على الثغرات في قدراتهم، وتحديد الميزانيات والموارد التي يحتاجونها، ووصف التشريعات أو اللوائح الإدارية اللازمة. وأخيراً، أيدنا المجموعات النسائية في تقديم مقترح سياسة لجبر التعويضات لأجهزة الدولة لإدماجها في السياسات الرسمية.

  • نيبال: ساعدنا في إبلاغ الحكومة بأن برامج الإغاثة للضحايا بعد الحرب الاهلية يجب أن تُوفّر العدالة للمرأة، بما في ذلك زوجات المخفيين قسراً، وأنّ تدابير جبر الضرر يجبُ أن تتجاوز تلبية الاحتياجات الفورية للضحايا، لتشمل برامج طويلة المدى. أنتجنا أيضا دليلاً لبرامج جبر الضرر باللغة النيبالية بخصوص الفواتير المعقدة والإجراءات الحكومية.

  • البيرو: لمعالجة تركة الصراع الداخلي المسلح الذي طال أمده، عملنا مع هيئة الحقيقة والمصالحة والجهات الحكومية والمجتمع المدني ومجموعات الضحايا. اعتمدت الهيئة توصياتنا لتحديد جبر الضرر كما استشارت الضحايا ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، واعتمدت نهجاً شاملاً شمل ضحايا فرديين وجماعيين. صَدرت هذه التوصيات لاحقاً بعد ذلك في قانون ويتم تنفيذها منذ ذلك الحين. اختبرنا وقدمنا مقترحات إلى الحكومة اُعتمدت في وقت لاحق حول زيادة العنصر الترميمي الرمزي لجبر الضرر الجماعي ومشاركة النساء. بمساعدة ضغطنا، بدأت الحكومة في تنفيذ برنامج تعويض وعدد من أشكال جبر الضرر، التي على الرغم من إدراجها في قانون التعويضات، تُركت دون معالجة . كما اشتغلنا مع منظمات مختلفة من المجتمع المدني ومجموعات الضحايا، بما في ذلك من المناطق الأكثر تضرراً، لخلق أرضية مشتركة يُمكن للضحايا عليها تقديم مقترحات لهيئة الحقيقة والمصالحة والحكومة حول كيفية تحديد وتنفيذ برامج التعويضات.

  • الفلبين: بمساعدة سنوات عديدة من المشاركة الفاعلة من قِبل المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية، تم تمريرُ تشريعات تمنح تعويضات وتعترفُ بضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي اُرتكبت خلال الحكم الدكتاتوري لماركوس. أيضاً، نصحنا لجنة مشتركة من الحكومة وجبهة مورو الاسلامية للتحرير بنهج من العدالة الانتقالية يجب على الدولة اعتماده كجزء من تنفيذ عملية السلام، بما في ذلك دفع تعويضات لضحايا الانتهاكات والتهميش والمظالم التاريخية.

  • سيراليون: ساعدت نصيحتنا في تحسين إمكانية الوصول إلى عملية تسجيل لضحايا الحرب الأهلية في برامج جبر الضرر. أوصينا حول كيفية إجراء وجدولة عملية المقابلة وأخذ الشهادات لضمان تسجيل مزيد من الضحايا في المناطق الريفية والتي يصعب الوصول إليها من البلاد.

  • جنوب أفريقيا: مع دعمنا الفني، ساعدنا أكبر مجموعة من ضحايا الفصل العنصري الباقين على قيد الحياة في جنوب أفريقيا لتحدي قصور سياسات جبر الضرر للجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة الحكومية.

  • السودان: فيما يتعلق بالصراع في دارفور، قمنا بتحليل المدى الذي تم به إدراج الحق في تعويض الضحايا في المحاولات المختلفة لخلق اتفاق السلام. اعتمدنا وجودنا في المفاوضات لنشر النتائج التي توصلنا إليها إلى الجهات المعنية ذات الصلة.

  • تيمور الشرقية: عملنا مع البرلمانيين على سن تشريعات لتنفيذ التوصيات بالتعويضات من قبل لجنتين لتقصي الحقائق (لجنة تقصي الحقائق والاستقبال والمصالحة ولجنة الحقيقة والصداقة) التي تم تشكيلهما للتحقيق في الانتهاكات التي اُرتكبت خلال الاحتلال الإندونيسي .

  • تونس: بعد الإطاحة بالرئيس زين العابدين بن علي في عام 2011، عاوَنَا الجهات الحكومية والمسؤولين في وضع سياسات لجبر الضرر التي من شأنها أن تكون فعالة ومناسبة لاحتياجات ضحايا الدكتاتورية.

  • أوغندا: ردًا على الحرب الأهلية، وخاصة في الشمال، زوّدنا أجهزة الدولة ذات الصلة بالمعلومات الهامة حول الاحتياجات التعويضية للضحايا، وساعدنا في تحديد الثغرات في القدرات والموارد التي من شأنها أن تُتطلب لوضع وتنفيذ برامج تعويضات فعالة . أيدنا منظمات المجتمع المدني، ولا سيما المنظمات النسائية، لتقديم مقترحات بخصوص سياسة تعويضات إلى سلطات الدولة.

البحث

  • على نحو مستمر، نُدير مجموعات نقاش مركّزة ، ودراسات استقصائية قائمة على السكان، وتحليلات مقارنة، وبحوث تجريبية بخصوص قضايا محددة تؤثر على برامج جبر الضرر. ويشمل هذا، على سبيل المثال، الاحتياجات المتغيرة للضحايا، ودور الجنسين والهوية والفقر والطرق التي يؤثر بها تملك الأرض والفساد والتهميش على تصميم وتنفيذ برامج جبر الضرر البناءة.

  • نُؤكد على أهمية الاعتذارات العلنية الرسمية كشكل من أشكال التعويض في تقريرنا:" أكثر من مجرد كلمات: الاعتذار بمثابة شكل من أشكال جبر الضرر، المتاح باللغة الانجليزية، حيثما عرضنا دروساً لما يُشكل اعتذاراً فعالاً. وقد تم إنتاج إصدارات مخصصة لظروف معينة، شملت أقسام محددة حول كولومبيا وساحل العاج في الترجمة الإسبانية والفرنسية الخاصة بهم.

على صعيد السياسات

  • نزوّد العاملين في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بمعرفة مقارنة هامة حول برامج جبر الضرر الغير قضائية. قدمنا عريضة رسمية إلى المحكمة خلال إجراءات التعويضات الأولى.

  • عقدنا مؤتمرا دوليا حول جبر الضرر الجماعي مع المجلس الاستشاري المغربي لحقوق الإنسان، وحضره مدافعون عن حقوق الضحايا وممثلون حكوميون من سبع دول معنيين في ذلك الوقت بتنفيذ تدابير جبر الضرر. أنتجنا بعد ذلك تحليلا مقارناً يشمل الخبرات بشأن جبر الضرر الجماعي التي نتجت من ذلك المؤتمر، وشملت حالات بيرو، كولومبيا، اتشيه (اندونيسيا)، وليبيريا، وسيراليون، والمغرب.

"لقد كان [المركز الدولي للعدالة الانتقالية] قادرا على إزالة الغموض عن بعض مفاهيم العدالة الانتقالية ... ما الذي يعنيه جبر الضرر في الواقع وكيف يمكن أن يُنظم. كانوا قادرين على جمع الأشخاص من البلدان التي قدموا فيها تدخلات بشأن التعويضات لتقديم المشورة بشأن السياق الفريد من نوعه في كينيا"- مسؤول حكومي كيني

Reparations

Reparations

Reparations seek to recognize and address the harms suffered by victims of systematic human rights violations. ICTJ’s Reparative Justice program provides knowledge and comparative experience on reparations to victims' groups, civil society and policymakers worldwide.

Santiago, Chile - Memorial for the detained, disappeared and executed (Louis Bickford)

States have a legal duty to acknowledge and address widespread or systematic human rights violations, in cases where the state caused the violations or did not seriously try to prevent them.

Reparations initiatives seek to address the harms caused by these violations. They can take the form of compensating for the losses suffered, which helps overcome some of the consequences of abuse. They can also be future oriented—providing rehabilitation and a better life to victims—and help to change the underlying causes of abuse.

Reparations publicly affirm that victims are rights-holders entitled to redress.

Types of Reparations

Reparations initiatives can be designed in many ways. They may include financial compensation to individuals or groups; guarantees of non-repetition; social services such as healthcare or education; and symbolic measures such as formal apologies or public commemorations.

Some examples:

  • From 1996 to 2008, the Chilean government paid more than $1.6 billion in pensions to certain victims of the Pinochet regime, and established a specialized health care program for survivors of violations. These were accompanied by an official apology from the President.
  • The Moroccan government is currently implementing both individual and community-based reparations for over 50 years of widespread abuse. These include funding for projects proposed by communities that were previously deliberately excluded from development programs for political reasons.
  • In 2010, the President of Sierra Leone formally apologized to women victims of his country’s 10-year armed conflict. This apology forms part of ongoing efforts to distribute modest compensation, rehabilitation and other benefits to eligible victims.
  • The Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia ordered symbolic and collective reparations in the court’s first conviction for crimes against humanity. The court ordered that the names of victims of a notorious prison be listed in the Court’s website, as well as the apologies issued by the convicted person.

If pursued without other justice measures, reparations initiatives have sometimes been criticized as attempting to buy victims’ silence.

ICTJ believes reparations initiatives that follow from meaningful consultation with victims have the best chance of being fair and effective. Linking reparations to other forms of recognition, justice and guarantees of non repetition—as recommended by the United Nations Basic Principles on the Right to a Remedy and Reparation—can also contribute to their effectiveness.

ICTJ’s Vision

Reparations need to respond to victims’ rights and address the ongoing needs of victims resulting from those violations. Reparations should be based on a process of listening to victims, acknowledging wrongdoing, and recognizing the consequences of the violations committed. If measures are to be effective and able to address the worst consequences of the violations, the participation of victims and victims’ groups in the design and implementation of reparations is critical.

ICTJ’s Reparative Justice program helps victims to articulate their needs and identify the most meaningful forms of reparations for them and provides advice to policymakers on the practical, legal, financial, and procedural challenges involved in designing and implementing reparations programs. Alongside victims, we engage with different stakeholders, including national and international policymakers, donors, development actors, and other human rights organizations to help them to understand the importance of reparations in addressing the consequences of massive human rights violations. We also emphasize that reparations programs can be created on their own; they do not necessarily need to follow the establishment of a truth commission or prosecutions.

ICTJ works to encourage societies to consider the different ways reparations, humanitarian assistance, and development can interact to provide a degree of justice. Humanitarian assistance as an immediate response to alleviate the consequences of violations are welcome, they are insufficient. They do not respond to victims as right bearers, nor do they recognize that violations were committed. Likewise, although development policies can ameliorate victims’ suffering and address historical marginalization, they will not have a reparative affect unless adequate acknowledgment and symbolic measures are added.

We encourage societies to use approaches that are grounded in the language, culture, and history of the country and the victim populations. Importantly, reparation measures cannot rely only on compensation, but should include forms of rehabilitation, satisfaction, and guarantees of non-repetition, combining measures that are symbolic, material, individual, and collective, depending on circumstances and victim preferences.

Given limited resources and differing needs of victims, effective reparations programs should prioritize those who suffered the most or have the most immediate need for relief.

"Even today, when I pass by the college, I feel suffocated. I was deprived of my right. Why? Only because I covered my hair?" – Ines, victim of religious discrimination in Tunisia

ICTJ's Impact

Our work in different countries has helped to establish programs that recognize the right of victims to reparations that are relevant to their needs and contexts. Through comparative and field-based research and reporting, we have developed a body of knowledge not only about reparations in general, but about its many dimensions, including collective reparations, apologies, and links to poverty.

Country-Specific Work:

  • Cambodia We assisted the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, established to prosecute former leaders of the Khmer Rouge, to draft and revise the regulations that now govern court-ordered reparations in its cases.

  • Colombia: We supported the peace process between the Colombian government and the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia—People's Army (FARC), as part of a working group, to include reparations in the Victims’ Agreement, a section of the final peace agreement. In collaboration with CODHES, a civil society organization that works on human rights for internally displaced persons, we also started the Collective Reparations Observatory.

  • Côte d’Ivoire: We advised government bodies responsible for administering reparations programs for victims of the election violence of 2010–2011. Specifically, we advised the National Social Cohesion Program, the Ministry of Solidarity, Social Cohesion and Victims Compensation, and the National Commission for the Reconciliation and Compensation of Victims on how to define reparations based on effective consultations with victims, register victims, combine existing databases, and reach victims previously excluded (especially from more remote areas). Our consultation and dialogue process with victims in marginalized areas ensured that their views were considered by relevant state agencies. We also helped those organizations, including women’s groups, to monitor the registration process and provide insights into its shortcomings.

  • Kenya: We assisted the Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commission (TJRC), which was set up in the aftermath of the post-election violence of 2007–2008, to design a matrix of reparations measures that could be implemented by the state. These covered the broad range of human rights violations within the TJRC mandate, including economic and social rights violations, violations involving land, and historic injustices. We helped government agencies and officials involved in designing reparations programs to identify and overcome their capacity gaps, outline the budgets and resources they required, and describe the legislation or administrative regulations needed. Finally, we supported women’s groups to provide reparations policy proposals to state agencies for incorporation into official policies.

  • Nepal: We helped to inform the government that the post-civil war relief programs for victims must provide justice for women, including wives of the forcibly disappeared, and that reparations measures must go beyond compensation and meeting victims’ immediate needs, to include long-term programs. We also produced Nepali-language reparations information kits on relevant complex bills and government procedures.

  • Peru: To address the legacy of the long-running internal armed conflict, we worked with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, state actors, civil society, and victims’ groups. The commission adopted our recommendations to define reparations, consult victims and civil society groups, and adopt a comprehensive approach that included individual and collective victims. Those recommendations were later passed into law and several have since been implemented. We tested and submitted proposals that the government later adopted around increasing the symbolic reparative component of collective reparations and on the participation of women. Aided by our lobbying, the government began implementing a compensation program and other forms of reparations that, although included in their reparations law, had been left unaddressed. We also worked with different civil society and victims’ groups, including from the most affected regions, and helped them to create a common platform from which victims could make proposals to the TRC and the government on how to define and implement reparations programs.

  • The Philippines: Aided by many years of active engagement by ICTJ, legislation was passed that granted reparations and recognition to victims of human rights violations committed during the Marcos dictatorship. We also advised a joint commission of the government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front on approaches to transitional justice that the state should adopt as part of implementing the peace process, including on reparations for victims of violations, marginalization, and historic grievances.

  • Sierra Leone: Our advice helped to improve the accessibility of the reparations registration process for victims of the civil war. We advised on how to staff and schedule the interview and statement-taking process, to ensure that more victims in rural and hard-to-reach areas of the country could register.

  • South Africa: With our technical support, we helped the largest apartheid survivors’ group in South Africa to challenge the government’s limited post-Truth and Reconciliation Commission reparations policies.

  • Sudan: In relation to the conflict in Darfur, we analyzed the extent to which the right to reparations of victims has been incorporated into the different attempts to create a peace agreement. We used our presence in negotiations to disseminate our findings to relevant stakeholders.

  • Timor-Leste: We worked with parliamentarians to enact legislation to implement the reparations recommendations of the two truth commissions (the Commission for Truth, Reception and Reconciliation and the Commission on Truth and Friendship) that were established to investigate abuses that occurred during the Indonesian occupation.

  • Tunisia: After the overthrow of President Ben Ali in 2011, we assisted government agencies and officials to design reparations policies that would be effective and relevant to the needs of victims of the dictatorship.

  • Uganda: In response to long-running civil conflict, particularly in the north, we provided relevant state agencies with critical information about the reparative needs of victims, and helped to identify capacity gaps and resources that would be required to design and implement effective reparations programs. We supported civil society organizations, especially women’s organizations, to provide reparations policy proposals to submit to state authorities.

Research

  • On an ongoing basis, we conduct focus group discussions, population-based surveys, comparative analyses, and empirical research related to specific issues affecting reparations. This encompasses, for example, the changing needs of victims, the role of gender, identity and poverty, and ways in which land, corruption, and marginalization affect the design and implementation of effective reparations programs.
  • We underscored the importance of official public apologies as a form of reparation in our report, More Than Words: Apologies as a Form of Reparation, and provided lessons for what makes an effective apology. The report has been adapted to specific circumstances, and has included specific sections about Colombia and Côte d’Ivoire in their Spanish and French translations.
  • Our briefing paper on The Right to Reparations in Situations of Poverty< explores the challenges faced by reparations programs in post-conflict developing countries with widespread poverty.

Policy-Level

“They [ICTJ] have been able to demystify certain transitional justice concepts … what reparations actually means and how you organize for them. They were able to bring people from countries where they had supported reparations interventions to advise on Kenya’s unique context.” --Kenya Government official